Recent

Author Topic: Debugging a large application on Raspberry PICO  (Read 1977 times)

pascalbythree

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
Debugging a large application on Raspberry PICO
« on: April 12, 2023, 05:29:40 pm »
Does anybody knows how to load a UF2 program on the RPI PICO without unplugging the IDE cable and also not use the BOOTSEL button?

My FPC compiler for ARM EMBEDDED got to work. Greets, Wouter

PS: On ubuntu also fine.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2023, 05:37:55 pm by pascalbythree »

pascalbythree

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
Re: Debugging a large application on Raspberry PICO
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2023, 06:30:10 pm »
Does anybody know weither the BOOTSEL button action can be cancelled ?

bad luck: I still need to press the button.

Does anybody how go get rid of this: / maybe a programmer from Windows?

Just to load my Freepascal UF2 file on my Raspberry PICO with WIFI, without unplugging the USB cable and without the BOOTSEL button.

Or is that just not possible.?

Or is it OCD "On Chip Debugger"  ???
« Last Edit: April 12, 2023, 08:35:29 pm by pascalbythree »

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7720
Re: Debugging a large application on Raspberry PICO
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2023, 08:57:40 pm »
Use a PicoProbe.

MarkMLl
MT+86 & Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN & graphics in 128Kb.
Logitech, TopSpeed & FTL Modula-2 on bare metal (Z80, '286 protected mode).
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.
GitHub repositories: https://github.com/MarkMLl?tab=repositories

pascalbythree

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
Re: Debugging a large application on Raspberry PICO
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2023, 11:48:59 am »
Is there another-one?

So i can try 2 versions at the same time, working on UBUNTU22

 8-)

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7720
Re: Debugging a large application on Raspberry PICO
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2023, 12:16:45 pm »
Another what? What do you mean?

MarkMLl
MT+86 & Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN & graphics in 128Kb.
Logitech, TopSpeed & FTL Modula-2 on bare metal (Z80, '286 protected mode).
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.
GitHub repositories: https://github.com/MarkMLl?tab=repositories

pascalbythree

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
Re: Debugging a large application on Raspberry PICO
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2023, 06:00:54 pm »
A alternative for picoprobe

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7720
Re: Debugging a large application on Raspberry PICO
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2023, 06:33:38 pm »
A alternative for picoprobe

It's open-source. If you want to port it to an Arduino or other MCU go ahead: but quite frankly to save £10 or so you'd be wasting your time.

MarkMLl
MT+86 & Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN & graphics in 128Kb.
Logitech, TopSpeed & FTL Modula-2 on bare metal (Z80, '286 protected mode).
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.
GitHub repositories: https://github.com/MarkMLl?tab=repositories

pascalbythree

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
Re: Debugging a large application on Raspberry PICO
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2023, 10:27:17 am »
Forum friends,

Is this the right UF2 file to load the Raspberry PICO without the bootsel button? Or must i use another one ?

Greets, Wouter

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7720
Re: Debugging a large application on Raspberry PICO
« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2023, 10:34:35 am »
If you don't have the bootsel button pressed the RP2040 will look like whatever class of USB device the firmware has configured it as. You need to use a PicoProbe on the SWD interface.

You're wasting your time and, in my opinion. ours.

MarkMLl
MT+86 & Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN & graphics in 128Kb.
Logitech, TopSpeed & FTL Modula-2 on bare metal (Z80, '286 protected mode).
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.
GitHub repositories: https://github.com/MarkMLl?tab=repositories

pascalbythree

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
Re: Debugging a large application on Raspberry PICO
« Reply #9 on: April 15, 2023, 04:30:21 pm »
Is this going a little further ?

What command shoud i give to load the blinky.elf file?

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7720
Re: Debugging a large application on Raspberry PICO
« Reply #10 on: April 15, 2023, 04:46:27 pm »
What are you using to interface to the Pico's SWD lines?

MarkMLl
MT+86 & Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN & graphics in 128Kb.
Logitech, TopSpeed & FTL Modula-2 on bare metal (Z80, '286 protected mode).
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.
GitHub repositories: https://github.com/MarkMLl?tab=repositories

pascalbythree

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
Re: Debugging a large application on Raspberry PICO
« Reply #11 on: April 15, 2023, 05:54:16 pm »
Yay! It got to work! Thank you for all your reply's !

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7720
Re: Debugging a large application on Raspberry PICO
« Reply #12 on: April 17, 2023, 10:43:32 am »
The vid:pid and serial number in that screenshot appears to indicate that you've got a Debug Probe plugged in, which is the PicoProbe's slightly-more-recent sibling.

https://www.jeffgeerling.com/blog/2023/testing-raspberry-pis-new-debug-probe https://github.com/raspberrypi/usb-pid

MarkMLl
MT+86 & Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN & graphics in 128Kb.
Logitech, TopSpeed & FTL Modula-2 on bare metal (Z80, '286 protected mode).
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.
GitHub repositories: https://github.com/MarkMLl?tab=repositories

nicolap

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: Debugging a large application on Raspberry PICO
« Reply #13 on: May 17, 2023, 03:02:43 pm »
https://forums.raspberrypi.com/viewtopic.php?t=336083#p2011540
Quote
If you are using the SDK instead of micropython AND have stdio over USB, then you can reset it either through picotool (e.g. picotool reboot) or by setting the baud rate to 1200 from your terminal.

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018