Lazarus

Announcements => Lazarus => Topic started by: mattias on April 16, 2019, 10:34:02 am

Title: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: mattias on April 16, 2019, 10:34:02 am
The Lazarus team is glad to announce the release of Lazarus 2.0.2.

Here is the list of changes for Lazarus and Free Pascal:
http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Lazarus_2.0.0_release_notes
http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/User_Changes_3.0.4

Here is the list of fixes for Lazarus 2.0.x:
http://wiki.freepascal.org/Lazarus_2.0_fixes_branch

The release is available for download on SourceForge:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/lazarus/files/

Choose your CPU, OS, distro and then the "Lazarus 2.0.2" directory.

Checksums for the SourceForge files:
https://www.lazarus-ide.org/index.php?page=checksums#2_0_2

Minimum requirements:

Windows:
  2k, XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1 and 10, 32 or 64bit.

FreeBSD/Linux:
  gtk 2.8 for gtk2, qt4.5 for qt, qt5.6 for qt5, 32 or 64bit.

Mac OS X:
  10.5 to 10.12; Carbon (32bit), Cocoa (64bit, beta), qt and
  qt5 (32 or 64bit).

The svn tag is
https://svn.freepascal.org/svn/lazarus/tags/lazarus_2_0_2

For people who are blocked by SF, the Lazarus releases from SourceForge
are mirrored at: ftp://ftp.freepascal.org/pub/lazarus/releases/
and later at (after some time for synchronization)
http://mirrors.iwi.me/lazarus/
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Ñuño_Martínez on April 16, 2019, 11:48:49 am
Cool.

Question:  Do you know how many time need Ubuntu to update their repository?  It's still in 1.8.2.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: valdir.marcos on April 16, 2019, 12:26:08 pm
Excellent work Lazarus and Free Pascal teams!
Thanks for doing this great effort.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Thaddy on April 16, 2019, 01:09:38 pm
Nice work! Is a 202/320 planned when 320 is released?
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: bpranoto on April 16, 2019, 01:20:06 pm
I am on ubuntu 18.04 64bit and installing 2.0.2 over 2.0.0

When starting lazarus the Configure Lazarus IDE window appeared.

On Lazarus tab when I choose /usr/share/lazarus/2.0.2, there was a warning:
wrong version in ide/version.inc:2.0.2, see the picture.

After deleting directory ~/.lazarus, lazarus 2.0.2 ran well but of course all the customizations were gone.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: JD on April 16, 2019, 01:46:08 pm
Wonderful news. Great job Lazarus team.

JD
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: VTwin on April 16, 2019, 02:53:22 pm
Excellent! Many thanks to the developers.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: edwinyzh on April 16, 2019, 04:19:02 pm
Congratulations! FPC and Lazarus are awesome! I'm a happy ObjectPascal/Delphi coder :)
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: ASBzone on April 16, 2019, 04:33:43 pm
The Lazarus team is glad to announce the release of Lazarus 2.0.2.
  • This release was built with FPC 3.0.4.
  • The previous release Lazarus 2.0.0 was built with FPC 3.0.4 as well.

Congrats to the team.   Thanks for all the hard work (and any work that is not as hard  :P )
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: lucamar on April 16, 2019, 05:59:57 pm
Cool! Now we have to restart all the 2.0 testing with the new release :P :)
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: vdijken on April 16, 2019, 06:41:51 pm
I added the castle-game-engine package to version 2.0.2. Therefore lazarus was rebuild. But the size of the executable grew enormously; how come?
Is it just that package or is the rebuild of lazarus configured with the debug option on?

Directory of C:\lazarus

16-04-2019  15:59       356.297.066 lazarus.exe
13-04-2019  14:16        27.813.376 lazarus.old.exe
               2 File(s)    384.110.442 bytes
               0 Dir(s)  204.358.434.816 bytes free

And when I just do
Code: Diff  [Select]
  1. make clean bigide
the size is already

 Directory of C:\lazarus

16-04-2019  19:02       269.228.829 lazarus.exe
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Gigatron on April 16, 2019, 06:59:44 pm
Big Thanks for 2.0.2;
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: lucamar on April 16, 2019, 08:06:33 pm
Is it just that package or is the rebuild of lazarus configured with the debug option on?

I'm no expert but AFAICT the default Lazarus re-build has always been somewhat like the "Default" mode for projects: not all debug options set; only most of them :)

To have a "lean" Lazarus you have to select the "Optimized IDE" profile (in: Tools->Configure "Build Lazarus")
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Basile-B on April 18, 2019, 03:11:08 pm
Thanks. This is the first time this happens to me but the SF downlads didn't start. Had to use the mirrors. Don't know what they are doing at SF...
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: jonatanfelipe on April 18, 2019, 03:48:30 pm
please implement dark theme in lazarus <3
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: marcov on April 18, 2019, 03:56:36 pm
For the editor part, there is one, just select profile Twilight  in tools->options->editor->Display->colors

then in the top line switch default to twilight, as marked with an arrow in the screenshot

Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: piola on April 18, 2019, 10:40:35 pm
Where should I report bugs? Here or in the bugtracker?
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Martin_fr on April 18, 2019, 11:28:49 pm
In the bugtracker please.
You can post a summary here, with a link.

If unsure if something is a bug, you can discuss it here first.

The forum is only monitored by a subset of the team, and also it offers no means of organizing bug reports.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Ñuño_Martínez on April 19, 2019, 01:06:35 pm
please implement dark theme in lazarus <3
There's no need to.  Just change the style of your desktop system.  If you can't, change your operating system to one that allows it.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Dim.Uly on April 19, 2019, 05:23:41 pm
Hi. In Lazarus  v2.0.2  I have message:  Fatal: Unable to open file c:\Users\Дмитрий\AppData\Local\lazarus\idemake.cfg, when i trying to install components. In Lazarus  v2.0.0 I had no problems. How to fix it?
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Handoko on April 20, 2019, 04:25:59 pm
I've just upgraded to Lazarus 2.0.2.

I saw the deb file has been renamed to fpc-laz*.deb. I believe it is good, it should be able to solve the common Lazarus not working issue after OS upgrade/update on Ubuntu/Gnome distros. Thank you.

But where is the todo window? I can't find it on Lazarus menu > View.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: lucamar on April 20, 2019, 05:03:22 pm
The main caption ... is it on purpose? Because, frankly, it's ugly. I don't remember it being that way in previous releases, was it?

(I'm refering to the "rUnversioned directory", which is even longer in translations--not translated, thank the gods :) )


But where is the todo window? I can't find it on Lazarus menu > View.
I see it right there: "ToDo List", below "Leaks and traces".
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Handoko on April 20, 2019, 05:28:34 pm
I found it. Thank you.

Don't know what actually happened. I saw Online Package Manager and Todo List were disabled by default. Everything seems to working correctly after I enabled and rebuilt the IDE.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: JuhaManninen on April 21, 2019, 10:18:21 am
The main caption ... is it on purpose? Because, frankly, it's ugly. I don't remember it being that way in previous releases, was it?
(I'm refering to the "rUnversioned directory", which is even longer in translations--not translated, thank the gods :) )
It is supposed to show an SVN revision only if one is found. It was checked by:
Code: Pascal  [Select]
  1. if (rev = '') or (rev = 'Unknown') then
Apparently different SVN clients return different texts, thus in r61029 I added a test for or 'Unversioned directory'. Please test. It will be merged to 2.0.4.
This is main.pp line 8481.
Are there possibly other such texts from other clients? Can the texts be translated? That would complicate things.

Originally this feature was added to trunk in r58779 last autumn.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: lucamar on April 21, 2019, 10:53:23 am
It is supposed to show an SVN revision only if one is found. It was checked by:
Code: Pascal  [Select]
  1. if (rev = '') or (rev = 'Unknown') then
Apparently different SVN clients return different texts, thus in r61029 I added a test for or 'Unversioned directory'. Please test. It will be merged to 2.0.4.
This is main.pp line 8481.
Are there possibly other such texts from other clients? Can the texts be translated? That would complicate things.

Originally this feature was added to trunk in r58779 last autumn.

I've followed the code (in the release sources) and it ends up in revision.inc, which contains:
Code: Pascal  [Select]
  1. // Created by Svn2RevisionInc
  2. const RevisionStr = 'Unversioned directory';

Those kind of messages are usually translated (for example, in this machine svnversion responds with "exportado", in Spanish). Wouldn't it be better to check whether the string starts with a number (or some similar test) rather than check all possible "unversioned" messages?
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Martin_fr on April 21, 2019, 12:58:59 pm
Are there possibly other such texts from other clients? Can the texts be translated? That would complicate things.

Originally this feature was added to trunk in r58779 last autumn.

I am not sure the rev should be shown by default. It is getting crowded in the title..
(Instead of checkboxes, we should maybe have an edit box in the config, which accepts macros: "Lazarus $(version) - $(projecttitle) $(projectpath)" ....)


Also, if shown it should use a whitelist format. Show *only* if svn returns a known format: 47124 or r47123.
If the svn response is not known, do not show it.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: jamie on April 21, 2019, 02:19:44 pm
I like the new 2.0.2 but I notice the EDITOR is jumpy now.

 Many times if I move my cursor via key board using arrows and then start to type the cursor jumps back to the
start of the line or somewhere near the start. In otherwords, it does not stay where I moved it.

Oh well.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: JuhaManninen on April 21, 2019, 04:31:39 pm
Many times if I move my cursor via key board using arrows and then start to type the cursor jumps back to the
start of the line or somewhere near the start. In otherwords, it does not stay where I moved it.
It happens with GTK2, right?
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: JuhaManninen on April 21, 2019, 04:44:46 pm
I am not sure the rev should be shown by default. It is getting crowded in the title..
I think it is OK by default because using SVN can be considered a use case for advanced users.
When the sources are got from SVN, the revision number is a very useful piece of information.

Quote
(Instead of checkboxes, we should maybe have an edit box in the config, which accepts macros: "Lazarus $(version) - $(projecttitle) $(projectpath)" ....)
Yes. That will be a bigger change and will not be backported to 2.0.x.
I hope somebody provides a patch. It will be tested well and then goes to Lazarus 2.2.x.

Quote
Also, if shown it should use a whitelist format. Show *only* if svn returns a known format: 47124 or r47123.
If the svn response is not known, do not show it.
Yes, the logic was not well thought of. I fixed it in r61030. After a testing period I will mark it for merging to 2.0.4.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: yurix on April 21, 2019, 07:21:19 pm
Hi. In Lazarus  v2.0.2  I have message:  Fatal: Unable to open file c:\Users\Дмитрий\AppData\Local\lazarus\idemake.cfg, when i trying to install components. In Lazarus  v2.0.0 I had no problems. How to fix it?
I have a similar situation. We discussed this in the topic "we are planning the next release."
An error occurs if the environment variable Path contains the path to the sh.exe. That is, if you have a cygwin installed for example.
Unfortunately, we have not yet found a better solution than removing the path to the shell from the environment variable Path.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Soner on April 21, 2019, 10:18:44 pm
What is happened to Lazarus 2.X?
It seems it have big problems with code-tools.
I'm trying to update my lazarus from version 1.8.4 to 2.0.2 and i have big problems with procedure list and code navigation (ctrl+shift+up or down keys) when i change some code in sources.
look at screenshot of procedure list, it is empty for  include files in lazarus 2.0.2.
The svn version has not such problems, also jump over the 2.0.2 version?
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Martin_fr on April 21, 2019, 10:31:21 pm
I like the new 2.0.2 but I notice the EDITOR is jumpy now.

 Many times if I move my cursor via key board using arrows and then start to type the cursor jumps back to the
start of the line or somewhere near the start. In otherwords, it does not stay where I moved it.

Any clues how to reproduce?

This is a vertical or horizontal jump? Or mixed?

OS? WidgetSet?

Anything in the messages window?
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: jamie on April 21, 2019, 10:47:19 pm
Just on the horizontal plane as far as I can see.

 at times I like to move my cursor in via arrow keys to line it under some item on the previous line
and when I start to type it'll jump back near the start of the line. It behaves like it is trying to do some autoline
formatting on its own to create code alignment of what it wants and not what I want.
 
 Its hard to product, I'll have to pay closer attention to it next time to see what text is sitting around it that is causing it.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Martin_fr on April 21, 2019, 10:57:58 pm
Is that only AFTER the last visible char?

Could it be related to trim trailing spaces?

If so, please attach or sent your EditorOptions.xml

Or maybe related to typing keywords (begin/end/...)
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Ameta on April 22, 2019, 09:26:42 am
Excellent work Lazarus and Free Pascal teams!
Thanks for doing this great effort.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: R.Blennerhed on April 22, 2019, 08:18:43 pm
Great job of Yours. :)
Many Thanks.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: antispam88 on April 22, 2019, 10:55:02 pm
Hi,

are there any updates on https://bugs.freepascal.org/view.php?id=35289 (https://bugs.freepascal.org/view.php?id=35289)?
It breaks the workflow a lot when you are used to work with code completion but depending on the input after 5 to 20 minutes only the error message appears. Only restarting the IDE works for me.

Best regards,
antispam88

Laz 2.0.2
FPC 3.0.4
x86_64-win64-win32/win64
Win10 64 pro
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: zoltanleo on April 23, 2019, 10:06:48 pm
are there any updates on https://bugs.freepascal.org/view.php?id=35289 (https://bugs.freepascal.org/view.php?id=35289)?
I support the question. I also have this bug, although not as often (win7 x64, fpc/laz trunk)
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: hubblec4 on April 25, 2019, 01:03:10 pm
https://bugs.freepascal.org/view.php?id=35289?
Thats an ugly bug. It comes from time to time.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Martin_fr on April 25, 2019, 01:09:12 pm
Just a note, the forum is (mostly) for user to user help. Not all of the developers read it regularly (some threads get monitored, but that is the exception). The mailing list is a better point of contact, if that is what you look for.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: calebs on April 29, 2019, 04:08:03 pm
I have a problem, dont know if its a bug, started to happen with 2.0.2
I have a program that takes command line parameters to start and the first time i open the project and try to compile and run doesn't detect the paramaters.
But if i enter to the run parameters from the run menu i can see that the options are there.
Click on ok to confirm the window and next compile and run work as expected.
It was working well with 2.0.0.
Could be a bug?
Thanks!
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Martin_fr on April 29, 2019, 04:40:33 pm
I have a program that takes command line parameters to start and the first time i open the project and try to compile and run doesn't detect the paramaters.
But if i enter to the run parameters from the run menu i can see that the options are there.

Not sure what you mean?

Do you mean, when you run from the IDE, the command line args are not passed. 
But if you opened "run > run parem" they are already there?
And once you "ok" the program sees them?

I tried that (with trunk) and it works. Create a project "writeln(argc)". Give it some commandline args, it prints the right number.
Restart the IDE, open project, run it (without looking at "run > run param". It still prints the correct number.

So more info needed, what you do. (OR if you do the exact same, then maybe it is fixed in trunk)

Tested with the default gdb based debugger....
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: calebs on April 29, 2019, 05:15:16 pm
Its hard to explain in english but ill try.
I have this set of applications that recieve in commandline parameters the user and password to open the application that is sent from the main app.
For programing each application, i put the user and password in each project in the run >> commandline parameters.
I've working with this apps since lazarus 0.9 or before.
Now with lazarus 2.0.2 i:
* open lazarus
* open project
* hit f9 to run
* gives me the error expected as if no user and password was given in command line
* go to run menu >> run parameters (i have lazarus in spanish)
* the parameters are there correctly
* accept the window
* hit f9 again
* program starts with parameters taken

it happens with some of the projects, its a set of 44 applications and the almost each one requires user and password to start.
It never happened until 2.0.2
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Martin_fr on April 29, 2019, 06:03:39 pm
See my description, I did the same steps. But argc was correct (I even tested with 2.0.2 now)

Are you using the default debugger (gdb)?

How to you read the arguments? argc and argv?
If otherwise, can you log argc (count of arg) at the start of your app?

If so go to menu: View > Ide Internals > Debug Output

Then run the app, and in the "debug output" check for a line like
Code: [Select]
-exec-arguments your_arg1 your_arg2 ....
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: antispam88 on April 29, 2019, 10:23:14 pm
Hi,

I can confirm that issue.
Maybe it is depending on that I'm using following option: "Save in .lps file in IDE config directory"
Here is a difference I found in lps file:

Before opening the "Run Parameters" dialog:
Code: Pascal  [Select]
  1.     <RunParams>
  2.       <FormatVersion Value="2"/>
  3.       <Modes Count="0" ActiveMode=""/>
  4.     </RunParams>

And after saving the "Run Parameters" dialog:
Code: Pascal  [Select]
  1.     <RunParams>
  2.       <FormatVersion Value="2"/>
  3.       <Modes Count="0" ActiveMode="default"/>
  4.     </RunParams>

Best regards,
antispam88
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Martin_fr on April 29, 2019, 10:30:23 pm

That looks like a lead.

Best to report it on the issue tracker (with a subject like: build mode is not set/saved in lps file)

The question would still be, at what time it is unset (again)?
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: calebs on April 29, 2019, 10:54:47 pm

That looks like a lead.

Best to report it on the issue tracker (with a subject like: build mode is not set/saved in lps file)

The question would still be, at what time it is unset (again)?

Don't know if helps, but if i open lazarus, open the project, go to check run parameters, exit, run with f9, exiting lazarus (with nothing changed in source code) and reopen everything again the error persists. But on other projects work well. I guess it must be something related to the project file. Oddly, never happened with 2.0 or before.
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: antispam88 on April 29, 2019, 11:00:21 pm
Created a bug: https://bugs.freepascal.org/view.php?id=35470
Title: Re: Lazarus Release 2.0.2
Post by: Al-Eid on May 13, 2019, 09:28:24 am
Thank you very much  :D :D