Lazarus

Programming => Operating Systems => Other => Topic started by: ruk1n on June 02, 2017, 06:50:39 pm

Title: Lazarus on ReactOS 0.4.5
Post by: ruk1n on June 02, 2017, 06:50:39 pm
Hello,

I've quickly tried Lazarus 1.6.4 on ReactOS 0.4.5 (see attached picture). 
But the buttons don't seem to be labeled. Does anyone know a turnaround ?
--
ruk1n
Title: Re: Lazarus on ReactOS 0.4.5
Post by: marcov on June 02, 2017, 07:05:33 pm
File a bug with reactos, upgrade reactos?
Title: Re: Lazarus on ReactOS 0.4.5
Post by: sky_khan on June 02, 2017, 07:20:59 pm
Not a surprise. Reactos is still more unstable than Windows ME :)
Title: Re: Lazarus on ReactOS 0.4.5
Post by: Ñuño_Martínez on June 05, 2017, 09:30:15 am
To complete what SkyKhan said, ReactOS is currently in a early unstable development stage, and they don't recommend to use it "in production". Anyway it is much more stable now than the first time I tested it (0.2.something ;)).
Title: Re: Lazarus on ReactOS 0.4.5
Post by: Paul Breneman on June 05, 2017, 11:01:18 am
I've quickly tried Lazarus 1.6.4 on ReactOS 0.4.5 (see attached picture). 
But the buttons don't seem to be labeled. Does anyone know a turnaround ?

There are quite a few message threads around about bugs with fpc 3.0.2:
http://forum.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php/topic,35901.msg248293/topicseen.html#new

But (as others have mentioned) I'd guess that you're seeing a ReactOS bug?  You might try fpGUI the easy way: http://turbocontrol.com/easyfpgui.htm

Here are some related links:
http://wiki.freepascal.org/Small_Virtual_Machines#ReactOS_virtual_machine (http://wiki.freepascal.org/Small_Virtual_Machines#ReactOS_virtual_machine)
http://turbocontrol.com/reactos.htm (http://turbocontrol.com/reactos.htm)

Please report back to us what you find out!  :)
Title: Re: Lazarus on ReactOS 0.4.5
Post by: ruk1n on June 05, 2017, 12:06:46 pm
Many thanks to all of you for your answers.

@marcov: I use the last version of ReactOS. And, yes, I will file a bug.

@SkyKhan: IMHO, the stability of Windows ME crucially relied on the stability of the applications using it  :). The last version of ReactOS I tried seemed fairly bugged but stable enough for an Alpha release.

@Ñuño_Martínez: I agree with you.

@Paul Breneman:  Thanks for your links. I'll report back if I find something interesting.
--
ruk1n