Lazarus

Programming => Databases => Topic started by: vs99 on April 07, 2014, 11:57:58 pm

Title: Can not load dblib.dll
Post by: vs99 on April 07, 2014, 11:57:58 pm
Hello for all,

I need write my first program with connect to MSSQL. I have Win7 64bit and Lazarus 1.2.0. I was download and install latest 32 bit library to c:\windows\system32 and 64bit library to win\SysWOW64 too.
If I make TMSSQLConnection, in Object Inspector fill server_name, user_name etc and if I switch Connect to True (for testing), appear devils msgbox - Can not load DB-lib client library "dblib.dll". Check your installation.

I am very unhappy from it. There must be some bullshit. Yes, Google I was try it, I read documentation....
Does anybody have an idea, please?

Thanks Vladimir
Title: Re: Can not load dblib.dll
Post by: JZS on April 08, 2014, 07:55:44 am
Haven't tried MSSQL with Lazarus, but from similar occurrence with other RDBMs. Just put the DLL in Lazarus folder and/or your project folder, for when executing the exe.
Title: Re: Can not load dblib.dll
Post by: BigChimp on April 08, 2014, 10:54:02 am
I've got dblib.dll (and libiconv2.dll for the 32 bit environment) in my system directories, works fine, but:

I was download and install latest 32 bit library to c:\windows\system32 and 64bit library to win\SysWOW64 too.
32 bit libraries go to syswow64, 64 bit libraries go to system32... Please blame Microsoft for this decision.

Haven't tried MSSQL with Lazarus, but from similar occurrence with other RDBMs. Just put the DLL in Lazarus folder and/or your project folder, for when executing the exe.
No need for that. Putting them in your system directories solves the problem for all development you do without needing to copy dlls all over the place...
Title: Re: Can not load dblib.dll
Post by: vs99 on April 08, 2014, 05:15:52 pm
Haven't tried MSSQL with Lazarus, but from similar occurrence with other RDBMs. Just put the DLL in Lazarus folder and/or your project folder, for when executing the exe.

Thanks for idea, I also tried this... No.. The same error... For MySQL this trick helped me. Here no.  :(
TinyPortal © 2005-2018