Lazarus

Miscellaneous => Suggestions => IDE/CodeTools => Topic started by: aliotti on October 14, 2006, 01:04:36 pm

Title: It is when compile and need find a problem but run units
Post by: aliotti on October 14, 2006, 01:04:36 pm
My sugestion is add one "run until change of Unit" this extra help me in test and compilation of much programs, because the program has units in middle that not need view, the idea is jump unit and stop when change the unit in compilation to use step by step.
Title: RE: It is when compile and need find a problem but run units
Post by: CCRDude on October 14, 2006, 01:59:26 pm
I don't understand a word :D

Do you refer to something similar to Delphi, which asks you if you want to recompile when you change code during runtime?
Title: RE: It is when compile and need find a problem but run units
Post by: Legolas on October 14, 2006, 05:38:11 pm
I think he's referring to the step by step debugging, that steps inside external units. Maybe he wants to step only into his project units  :?:
Title: RE: It is when compile and need find a problem but run units
Post by: CCRDude on October 14, 2006, 07:41:05 pm
But he doesn't need to step into external units if he doesn't want to - that's why you have F7 and F8 - you can step over or into functions, always the way you want ;)
Title: RE: It is when compile and need find a problem but run units
Post by: matthijs on October 15, 2006, 01:55:57 pm
If I understand it correctly you want to debug "new code". So why do not you place a breakpoint at the point where you changed the code? You can place breakpoints anywhere you like. (As long as the line generated code. :) )
Title: trying explain
Post by: aliotti on October 15, 2006, 03:27:52 pm
more times I need use F7 but the debbuging enter in units that no need view and need view the debug of next unit. I know that inserting {$D-} in unit to not view but need jump to next without insert {$D-}.
Title: RE: trying explain
Post by: matthijs on October 15, 2006, 04:15:17 pm
With debugging you can also use F8. This would make the current step be executed at once without going into any other function or procedure called in that step. Lets take this code:
Code: [Select]

  x := FunctionInOtherUnit(y, z);
  NextStatement;

Pressing F7 would go to begin of FunctionInOtherUnit, while F8 would execute the step without stepping into FunctionInOtherUnit.
TinyPortal © 2005-2018