Recent

Author Topic: Does Lazarus work on OSX?  (Read 6253 times)

mmount

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Does Lazarus work on OSX?
« on: May 07, 2010, 04:10:18 pm »
I've installed Lazarus and find I get constant AV's when attempting to use it (for example - drop a SynEdit on a form and set Align = alClient).  I don't have these problems as often on Windows.  Does Lazarus actually work on OSX?  Is there something I need to do to make it so it won't crash arbitrarily?

Additionally, if I design a program on Windows (because it doesn't crash) and open the code on OSX to compile it then all the forms are jacked up because the size of fonts and edits are different (and horrible).  I have to go in and try to redo every form.  Is there some way around this?

Thanks,

Mike

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2496
Re: Does Lazarus work on OSX?
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2010, 05:47:38 pm »
Lazarus is written in it self and since it is running on OSX, I guess it "works"
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

mmount

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Does Lazarus work on OSX?
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2010, 08:10:12 pm »
Are there some components or settings that can't be used with OSX.  I haven't been able to go 15 minutes without either an AV or having the IDE just disappear without warning.

Should I be able to use a synedit and set the align property?  If so, and since I can't, what should I look for to fix it?

I'm running the 0.9.28.2 release on Leopard (I haven't done the snow leopard upgrade yet on that machine).

Thanks,

Mike

cpalx

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 619
Re: Does Lazarus work on OSX?
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2010, 11:50:34 pm »
The problem is that is diferent the graphics in Windows(...), Linux (GTK, QT) and Mac (Carbon)
if you have to solve that problem try to "Anchors properties"

sfeinst

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
Re: Does Lazarus work on OSX?
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2010, 02:50:11 am »
Additionally, if I design a program on Windows (because it doesn't crash) and open the code on OSX to compile it then all the forms are jacked up because the size of fonts and edits are different (and horrible).  I have to go in and try to redo every form.  Is there some way around this?

I had similar problems with fonts and alignments between Linux and Windows.  I read a few of the wikis on the Lazarus site (start with http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Autosize_/_Layout) dealing with how controls are auto-aligned and sized and then played around with the anchor property of the controls.  Specifically, clicking on the ellipse (...) for the anchors.  This brought up a screen allowing me to align controls with other controls.

Using autosize and anchors, I no longer have problems with how controls appear compared to each other.  Same form and code in Windows and Linux now.  All my code to manually set sizes and alignment have been removed.

Fonts and controls sizes will still be different, but they look fine on the target machine.

mmount

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Does Lazarus work on OSX?
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2010, 12:27:05 pm »
Thanks for the responses.  I will try the autosize stuff to keep forms consistent between platforms.  I still can't get a SynEdit working on OSX though.  Turns out I can't even resize the edit in the IDE without an AV on OSX.  I have not yet tried designing a SynEdit based application on Windows and just compiling on OSX to see if it works as long as I'm not designing on the mac.

Mike