Recent

Author Topic: "FPC version" in "About Lazarus" screen  (Read 4730 times)

thierrybo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
"FPC version" in "About Lazarus" screen
« on: April 16, 2010, 01:27:08 pm »
Hi,

just a small question. I use a Lazarus setup where I build both lazarus AND freepascal from their sources. I do this since some weeks and it "seems" to works fine, but I realized the FPC version in Lazarus about screen still displays "2.4.1".

I believe  :-\ I well understood what I read in "buildfaq", and when I read Lazarus build messages I see clearly the path to my freepascal 2.5.1, so I wonder what is going wrong.

thierrybo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
Re: "FPC version" in "About Lazarus" screen
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2010, 02:47:42 pm »
 I found the reason but not why. For an unexplained  reason, the old lazarus.exe is not replaced with lazarus.new.exe, so I was running the old version each time.

Leledumbo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8264
  • Programming + Glam Metal + Tae Kwon Do = Me
Re: "FPC version" in "About Lazarus" screen
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2010, 05:41:05 am »
Don't run lazarus.exe directly, run through startlazarus.exe. It's its responsibility to rename lazarus.exe to lazarus.old.exe before renaming lazarus.new.exe to lazarus.exe.

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018