Recent

Author Topic: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc  (Read 86220 times)

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2583
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #60 on: January 10, 2010, 03:49:14 pm »
I just can't add a breakpoint as the option in grayed.
Did you configure a debugger (environment - options - debugger)?
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

asb

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #61 on: January 11, 2010, 09:15:42 pm »
Marc and et al.
I apply the solution given above (svn stuff) and now the ooops shit has gone away however when running the project, the debugger works like forever and nothing happens. The binary is created on the disc but when I run it from terminal nothing comes up. X11 starts, though.

Hope one can help!

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2583
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #62 on: January 12, 2010, 01:21:14 am »
X11 ???

What are you running ? Make sure the launching app is not checked (run parameters).
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

asb

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #63 on: January 12, 2010, 01:39:06 am »
I have GUI app and the option you said is unchecked. I went through many threads to make sure I do not have anything stupid in my options but it is still something there. When I Run the default project which shows up after the Lazarus is started, it runs OK but my project cannot be debugged. No outputs in Messages box, though.

I run the same project on 10.5 and it worked (now I am switching to 10.6 and cannot get it working). And it also worked under Ubuntu.

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2583
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #64 on: January 12, 2010, 11:57:12 am »
I have GUI app and the option you said is unchecked. I went through many threads to make sure I do not have anything stupid in my options but it is still something there. When I Run the default project which shows up after the Lazarus is started, it runs OK but my project cannot be debugged. No outputs in Messages box, though.

anything in the debug output window ?
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

asb

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #65 on: January 12, 2010, 02:44:54 pm »
a bunch of stuff there, I attached the file  :-[

Torquemada

  • Guest
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #66 on: January 13, 2010, 12:14:35 am »
I just can't add a breakpoint as the option in grayed.
Did you configure a debugger (environment - options - debugger)?

It wasn't me, but is seems to be configured in options:
Debugger: GNU Debugger (gdb)
Path: /usr/bin/gdb

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2583
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #67 on: January 13, 2010, 02:04:37 am »
Quote
....
<info address main>
&"info address main\n"

~"Symbol \"main\" is at 0x118c6 in a file compiled without debugging.\n"

^done
....

Enable debug info in compiler options (or did you strip the exe ?)

//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

asb

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #68 on: January 13, 2010, 03:55:09 pm »
attached is the new output
What I have marked (among other) is:
-gl
-WG
-vd

I am not sure what you mean by "did you strip the exe'

Lazarus has carbon LCL interface and I am trying to compile my project with gtk LCL. Doing it with carbon LCL does not result in anything different. I prefer to have carbon but when compiled the project under 10.5 MainMenu and SelectDirectory were not visible in the program so I could not setup my paths.

Torquemada

  • Guest
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #69 on: January 13, 2010, 04:00:40 pm »
Quote
....
<info address main>
&"info address main\n"

~"Symbol \"main\" is at 0x118c6 in a file compiled without debugging.\n"

^done
....

Enable debug info in compiler options (or did you strip the exe ?)


mmmm...sorry I don't understand exactly what do you mean.

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2583
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #70 on: January 13, 2010, 11:25:58 pm »
did you enable debug info in compiler options ?
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

Torquemada

  • Guest
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #71 on: January 14, 2010, 10:58:52 pm »
I tried to test some options combinations but I couldn't as a new problem has arrived: "failed to load file..." and after a dozen of tryes it run but after a moment lazarus crashed....
Thanks for your help but I give up (with mac version)!

VTwin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1215
  • Former Turbo Pascal 3 user
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #72 on: May 16, 2010, 03:56:58 pm »
Hello. I just discovered Lazarus and Free Pascal. I have been looking for options to move away from REALbasic, and as a former Turbo Pascal devotee, I am very excited about this possibility. Have been trying Python, but am getting bogged down in deployment issues.

I know this is an old thread, but it seems to describe my problems. Apparently it is resolved, but I can't follow the fix. I am trying to get up and running on OS X 10.6.3 Intel. I had previously installed OS X Developers Tools, including XCode 3.2.2.

First I installed lazarus-0.9.28.2-i386-macosx + fpc-2.4.0.intel-macosx. This seemed to be a problem because Lazarus could not find fpcsrc. But I could not find a fpcsrc-2.4.0 file to download. So I uninstalled both.

Next I installed fpc-2.2.4.intel-macosx + fpcsrc-2.2.4-intel-macosx + lazarus-0.9.28.2-i386-macosx, and it ran and compiled, failing at the 'debugger oops'.

I did not understand the SVN discussion very well, and could not find the mentioned fixed release on the web, could someone clarify the steps I need to take to fix the debugger bug? Also, if I upgrade to 2.4.0, how do I get the source fpcsrc that Lazarus seems to need?

Any help is much appreciated.

Regards,
Frederick

“Talk is cheap. Show me the code.” -Linus Torvalds

Free Pascal Compiler 3.2.2
macOS 12.1: Lazarus 2.2.6 (64 bit Cocoa M1)
Ubuntu 18.04.3: Lazarus 2.2.6 (64 bit on VBox)
Windows 7 Pro SP1: Lazarus 2.2.6 (64 bit on VBox)

VTwin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1215
  • Former Turbo Pascal 3 user
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #73 on: May 16, 2010, 04:55:12 pm »
I had a cup of coffee, reread everything, ran the svn commands, got the fatal error: "Lazarus requires at least FPC 2.4.0"

Reinstalled 2.4.0 with 2.4.0 XTools, set the Lazarus directory in Environment>Options, ran lazarus-svc/Lazarus and ... it worked!  :D

Thanks for making the fix earlier, and I apologize for reawakening this sleeping thread.

Cheers,
Frederick
« Last Edit: May 16, 2010, 04:57:12 pm by Frederick »
“Talk is cheap. Show me the code.” -Linus Torvalds

Free Pascal Compiler 3.2.2
macOS 12.1: Lazarus 2.2.6 (64 bit Cocoa M1)
Ubuntu 18.04.3: Lazarus 2.2.6 (64 bit on VBox)
Windows 7 Pro SP1: Lazarus 2.2.6 (64 bit on VBox)

BoB1990

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #74 on: June 04, 2010, 05:54:54 pm »
Hi, I have read everything, try svn ver of Lazarus and when I try Run "Hello world" app I have Error: resource compiler "fpcres" not found, switching to external mode
What I did wrong?

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018