Recent

Author Topic: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc  (Read 75067 times)

mbohn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #45 on: December 21, 2009, 04:14:06 am »
should be fixed in r23192

Thanks to all ppl repoting outputs.

Thanks to all who worked on this bug !

Hansaplast

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 539
  • Tweaking4All.com
    • Tweaking4All
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #46 on: December 27, 2009, 02:56:53 am »
Great work (again) :)

Maybe a stupid question;
What is the recommended approach to install a daily build over a release version?
(without screwing everything up  ;))

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2496
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #47 on: December 27, 2009, 01:18:15 pm »
Personally I would keep the existing installation and use svn in another dir, say ~/Projects/lazarus-svn
On a command prompt (in your ~/Projects dir) do a svn checkout
Code: [Select]
svn co http://svn.freepascal.org/svn/lazarus/trunk lazarus-svn
Then (i assume the fpc compiler is in your path) cd to the  ~/Projects/lazarus-svn dir and run
Code: [Select]
makeIn finder, you can click in Projects/lazarus-svn on lazarus.app to start lazarus.

To update svn, cd to the  ~/Projects/lazarus-svn dir and run
Code: [Select]
svn up
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

Hansaplast

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 539
  • Tweaking4All.com
    • Tweaking4All
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #48 on: December 28, 2009, 02:20:32 am »
Thanks Marc for the quick response :)

Unfortunately, the Release version is not working due to the bug mentioned in this thread.
So it's pretty much useless to me right now :(

To avoid that I make a mess out of things; I guess I better wait until there is a release that includes this fix .... unless you guys know a way to place the daily snapshot over the release i have on my computer ;)

Vincent Snijders

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2661
    • My Lazarus wiki user page
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #49 on: December 28, 2009, 12:17:31 pm »
Marc suggest to put it next to your release using the svn sources, not over your release.

Hansaplast

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 539
  • Tweaking4All.com
    • Tweaking4All
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #50 on: December 28, 2009, 05:26:19 pm »
Thanks Vincent - that's exactly what I understood.

However; I'd like to prevent a mess on my hard-drive having both versions on there (specially since the release version isn't working).
I'd rather stick to one version that works,... in a location that is identical to the release version.
This way, when a new release becomes available, I can just overwrite what I had.

I have had daily builds installed before, and it confused the heck out of me, specially when having a daily build and a release build installed.
Part probably because I'm not daily digging in the file structure of my Mac ...

fjrpilot

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #51 on: December 29, 2009, 05:19:14 pm »
Thanks Marc,  works for me too!

Torquemada

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #52 on: January 07, 2010, 09:01:13 pm »
Personally I would keep the existing installation and use svn in another dir, say ~/Projects/lazarus-svn
On a command prompt (in your ~/Projects dir) do a svn checkout
Code: [Select]
svn co http://svn.freepascal.org/svn/lazarus/trunk lazarus-svn
Then (i assume the fpc compiler is in your path) cd to the  ~/Projects/lazarus-svn dir and run
Code: [Select]
makeIn finder, you can click in Projects/lazarus-svn on lazarus.app to start lazarus.

To update svn, cd to the  ~/Projects/lazarus-svn dir and run
Code: [Select]
svn up


I still have a problem: while it's making I get the error:
Fatal: Can't find unit resource used by ProjectResourcesIntf

what can I do?

Thanks!

skalogryz

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2284
    • havefunsoft.com
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #53 on: January 07, 2010, 09:05:33 pm »
I still have a problem: while it's making I get the error:
Fatal: Can't find unit resource used by ProjectResourcesIntf

what can I do?
It's not related to the debugger! What are you trying to compile?
Patron Cocoa Widgetset development https://www.patreon.com/skalogryz

Torquemada

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #54 on: January 07, 2010, 09:07:18 pm »
I still have a problem: while it's making I get the error:
Fatal: Can't find unit resource used by ProjectResourcesIntf

what can I do?
It's not related to the debugger! What are you trying to compile?
lazarus-svn

skalogryz

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2284
    • havefunsoft.com
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #55 on: January 07, 2010, 09:09:40 pm »
are you using FPC 2.4.0 (or higher)? if not, you need to update the compiler.
Patron Cocoa Widgetset development https://www.patreon.com/skalogryz

Torquemada

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #56 on: January 07, 2010, 09:40:46 pm »
are you using FPC 2.4.0 (or higher)? if not, you need to update the compiler.
I've updated fpc and re-run make. Now lazarus has been compiled. thanks!
then I opened it and tryed an "hello world", but when I've tryed to run it I got a "can't find unit interfaces...".
So I tryed to run "Build Lazarus" from the tools menu but after a while it tells me "can't find unit DefineTemplates used by LazConf"....

skalogryz

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2284
    • havefunsoft.com
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #57 on: January 07, 2010, 09:52:02 pm »
please do the following.
Open Tools -> Configure Build -> Quick Build Options

select: Clean up + Build all
and press Build

it should help.
Patron Cocoa Widgetset development https://www.patreon.com/skalogryz

Torquemada

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #58 on: January 07, 2010, 10:03:26 pm »
please do the following.
Open Tools -> Configure Build -> Quick Build Options

select: Clean up + Build all
and press Build

it should help.
thanks but unfortunately it doesn't: same error as before

Torquemada

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Lazarus & Debugger oops etc
« Reply #59 on: January 07, 2010, 10:55:21 pm »
It works!
I had to change the lazarus path in the options: having 2 versions (release and svn) on the same machine probably causes some troubles with configuration files.
Now my "hello world" program compiles and runs!
I just can't add a breakpoint as the option in grayed.