Recent

Author Topic: A simple question for Mac users about Lazarus 4.0rc1  (Read 1183 times)

carl_caulkett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
A simple question for Mac users about Lazarus 4.0rc1
« on: October 30, 2024, 12:38:25 pm »
* Mac Mini M1
* macOS 14.6.1
* Lazarus 3.99
* Lazarus 4.0rc1
* FPC 3.3.1

The question...

Has any one managed to install Lazarus 4.0rc1 on macOS (I'm using 14.6.1...) and have you managed to install any components in addition to the default components?

Some context...

Could you do me a favour and try the attached test package? I've been trying to get Lazarus 4.0rc1 to install it for two days now, and I'd like to establish whether it can be done at all, or whether there are serious issues with Lazarus 4.0rc1 for macOS and the last two days have sent me on a fool's errand :o

I've tried it with the download specifically for macOS aarch64 at https://sourceforge.net/projects/lazarus/files/Lazarus%20macOS%20aarch64/Lazarus%204.0RC1/lazarus-darwin-aarch64-4.0RC1.zip/download

I've also tried downloading the source from https://sourceforge.net/projects/lazarus/files/Lazarus%20Zip%20_%20GZip/Lazarus%204.0RC1/lazarus-4.0-RC1.zip/download and building with...
make clean all bigide FPC="~/Applications/lazarus_4.0/fpc/bin/aarch64-darwin/fpc.sh"
 
In both cases, when the Lazarus IDE is rebuilt following the attempt to install the new component, the lazarus executable is being built afresh, but the new component is not being installed. I also notice that packages from the Install/Uninstall Packages and the Online Package Manager do not install any new components :o
« Last Edit: October 30, 2024, 12:41:40 pm by carl_caulkett »
"It builds... ship it!"

carl_caulkett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
Re: A simple question for Mac users about Lazarus 4.0rc1
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2024, 05:42:51 pm »
My apologies, if you think I am going on about this issue a bit too much!

It's just that after 2 days of exhausting every possibility I can think of to get it to work, I would just like to know that at least one other person has succeeded in installing a component in Lazarus 4.0rc1 for macOS.

If it turns out that no-one has, then surely this makes it worthy of some rather urgent attention from the Lazarus devs. No one wants a defective final release :o

If someone has managed to get it to work, then maybe they can help me figure out where I have gone wrong, or at least I will know that I'm not wasting my time trying to get something to work, that is fundamentally broken.
"It builds... ship it!"

TRon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3623
Re: A simple question for Mac users about Lazarus 4.0rc1
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2024, 06:02:54 pm »
My apologies, if you think I am going on about this issue a bit too much!
At least you are persistent  :)

You probably already heard it before but just to make sure: make sure to install everything in user space (e.g. a location where you have the right to read/write and execute). Make sure that no OS intervention is able to take place (antivirus, firewall, whatever other protection that might be able to run). If that still produce the same issues for you then make detailed notes of what you did to setup/install and file a report with all relevant information.

There are other people using a mac so would have expected to have seen more reports (but perhaps they will arrive later).
This tagline is powered by AI (AI advertisement: Free Pascal the only programming language that matters)

carl_caulkett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
Re: A simple question for Mac users about Lazarus 4.0rc1
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2024, 09:27:15 pm »
It occurred to me that I've been using fpc 3.3.1 in all my attempts so far, so I installed 3.2.2 under my Lazarus_4.0 folder which I moved to my own user folder. I also chmod -R 755'd everything and chown -R carlcaulkett:staff'd everything. I made sure to set all of the correct settings in the initialisation dialog.

I amended my component code to...
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. unit testEdit;
  2.  
  3. {$mode ObjFPC}{$H+}
  4.  
  5. interface
  6.  
  7. uses
  8.   Classes, SysUtils, LResources, Forms, Controls, Graphics, Dialogs, StdCtrls;
  9.  
  10. type
  11.   TtestEdit = class(TEdit)
  12.   end;
  13.  
  14. procedure Register;
  15.  
  16. implementation
  17.  
  18. procedure Register;
  19. begin
  20.   RegisterComponents('Test',[TtestEdit]);
  21.   ShowMessage('Register called');            // <== added this
  22. end;
  23.  
  24. end.
  25.  


On trying to install the component and rebuilding the IDE and restarting, the 'Register called' message does not appear and the component is not added. However the timestamp of the lazarus executable show that it is being rebuilt and written to disk. This suggests that in 4.0rc1, on macOS at least, Lazarus is not even attempting to call Register. This is why, presumably, third party component packages fail to install, as well.

If I do the same operation in fpc 3.31/Laz 3.99, the 'Register called' message does appear when Lazarus restarts and the component is added to the library.

If some OS intervention is taking place, it must be very selective, choosing to affect Lazarus 4.0rc1 and not Lazarus 3.99 ;)
"It builds... ship it!"

carl_caulkett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
Re: A simple question for Mac users about Lazarus 4.0rc1
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2024, 10:19:11 pm »
You probably already heard it before but just to make sure: make sure to install everything in user space (e.g. a location where you have the right to read/write and execute). Make sure that no OS intervention is able to take place (antivirus, firewall, whatever other protection that might be able to run). If that still produce the same issues for you then make detailed notes of what you did to setup/install and file a report with all relevant information.

There are other people using a mac so would have expected to have seen more reports (but perhaps they will arrive later).

I've submitted a bug report at https://gitlab.com/freepascal.org/lazarus/lazarus/-/issues/41215.
"It builds... ship it!"

TRon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3623
Re: A simple question for Mac users about Lazarus 4.0rc1
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2024, 03:27:22 am »
Sorry to hear that is was not possible to find a solution and thank you for having your issue reported.

I do not know how familiar you are but note that sometimes certain issues might take a while for being picked up (if at all). There really is a shortage on manpower.

Would be nice if someone is at least able to confirm (or deny for that matter).
This tagline is powered by AI (AI advertisement: Free Pascal the only programming language that matters)

carl_caulkett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
Re: A simple question for Mac users about Lazarus 4.0rc1
« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2024, 12:37:58 pm »
I do not know how familiar you are but note that sometimes certain issues might take a while for being picked up (if at all). There really is a shortage on manpower.

One would hope that since this has occurred in a release candidate, that would make it a bit more urgent 😉

Would be nice if someone is at least able to confirm (or deny for that matter).

That's why I have been banging on about it so much on this forum! I'm guessing that almost all of the people who have downloaded lazarus-darwin-aarch64-4.0RC1.zip (34 of them, apparently :o) do not frequent this forum. I'm still quite open to the possibility that it may be down to some stupid thing that I have done or neglected to do, but either way, as you say, it would be nice to know...
« Last Edit: October 31, 2024, 12:48:08 pm by carl_caulkett »
"It builds... ship it!"

TRon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3623
Re: A simple question for Mac users about Lazarus 4.0rc1
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2024, 05:55:39 pm »
One would hope that since this has occurred in a release candidate, that would make it a bit more urgent 😉
True but (and I do not know if already done so in which case nvm) to make sure it gets (more) attention, in the release thread where you posted the initial problem, make sure to add a link to the issue that you reported.

Quote
I'm guessing that almost all of the people who have downloaded lazarus-darwin-aarch64-4.0RC1.zip (34 of them, apparently :o) do not frequent this forum.
Just a word of warning about making assumptions on that number(s). 2 of those downloads are actually mine.

Quote
I'm still quite open to the possibility that it may be down to some stupid thing that I have done or neglected to do, but either way, as you say, it would be nice to know...
I am aware it perhaps frustrates to read someone pointing to it (I understand all too well) and although perhaps not on a personal level it would be the lesser of two evils (as it is easier to fix).

I always keep the possibility of "user error" open because quite frankly I myself am one of those persons that keep staring at my own faults while not recognizing them (et all).
This tagline is powered by AI (AI advertisement: Free Pascal the only programming language that matters)

carl_caulkett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
Re: A simple question for Mac users about Lazarus 4.0rc1
« Reply #8 on: October 31, 2024, 06:18:25 pm »
One would hope that since this has occurred in a release candidate, that would make it a bit more urgent 😉
True but (and I do not know if already done so in which case nvm) to make sure it gets (more) attention, in the release thread where you posted the initial problem, make sure to add a link to the issue that you reported.

Great idea! Will do...
« Last Edit: October 31, 2024, 06:29:23 pm by carl_caulkett »
"It builds... ship it!"

carl_caulkett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
Re: A simple question for Mac users about Lazarus 4.0rc1
« Reply #9 on: November 01, 2024, 12:12:04 pm »
One would hope that since this has occurred in a release candidate, that would make it a bit more urgent 😉
True but (and I do not know if already done so in which case nvm) to make sure it gets (more) attention, in the release thread where you posted the initial problem, make sure to add a link to the issue that you reported.

Great idea! Will do...

Well, I posted the link to the bug report yesterday, and the response has been, shall we say, underwhelming :o  No response to the reminder message and no response to the bug report itself. It's not a show-stopper issue for me in that I still have a perfectly functioning 3.3.1+3.99 installation working, but given that this is a release candidate, I find the lack of apparent interest mystifying and a little annoying! Let's see what 4.0rc2 brings to the table...
"It builds... ship it!"

carl_caulkett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
Re: A simple question for Mac users about Lazarus 4.0rc1
« Reply #10 on: November 02, 2024, 11:36:23 pm »
I'm pleased to report that the problem seems to be sorted. There was an old installation of FPC lurking the the depths of my /usr/local file system which, although not on the system path, somehow was screwing up the Lazarus make system for the IDE rebuild. Notably, FpcUpDeluxe had no such problems building Lazarus from source 😮

Now the rebuild runs without error, Lazarus restarts automatically, and my test component installs. Lo, there is singing and dancing in the streets at this joyous news ;)

I've updated the bug report https://gitlab.com/freepascal.org/lazarus/lazarus/-/issues/41215.
It'll probably get a reply now... 😮
"It builds... ship it!"

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10553
  • Debugger - SynEdit - and more
    • wiki
Re: A simple question for Mac users about Lazarus 4.0rc1
« Reply #11 on: November 03, 2024, 12:18:40 am »
Use fpc -va to find out what goes on....
Well, 99% of it.


fpc will locate a ppc for your CPU target. I don't know the exact rules for that. But afaik that can be in path, or somewhere local, not sure.

Then ppc will find an fpc.cfg. And that looks in several well know locations. If you have an installed fpc, it is very likely it found that fpc.cfg.
And then it uses the ppu of the RTL of that installed version (ignoring its own).


If you need more than one fpc => make sure you don't have such a global install. Make sure no such fpc.cfg exists.

Mind, it is possible to have multiple fpc, and one of them proper installed. But it's extremely easy to screw up.

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018