Recent

Author Topic: [BUG REPORT]TMainmenu works unexpectedly in radio mode, include Win/Linux  (Read 1123 times)

gasensor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
TMainmenu works unexpectedly in radio mode, include Win/Linux

Menuitem's RadioItem attribute set to True.

If the icon is set, the Menuitem cannot be displayed whether it is selected or not under all OS.

In Win10, menu items cannot be in radio mode even if the icon is not set

Test environment:
lazarus: 2.2.6 / 3.4

Now I have a deep understanding of why cross-platform applications written in Lazarus have such strange interfaces.

paweld

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1087
1. Report bugs here: https://gitlab.com/freepascal.org/lazarus/lazarus/-/issues

2.
Quote from: gasensor
If the icon is set, the Menuitem cannot be displayed whether it is selected or not under all OS.
if you set the icon for item, it is normal that you will not see the radio selection - the icon covers

3.
Quote from: gasensor
In Win10, menu items cannot be in radio mode even if the icon is not set
none of the menu items you haven't set as "Checked" - that's why the check mark is not visible. In addition, I recommend setting "AutoChecked" to "True" so that the selection changes automatically when you click on the menuitem.
Best regards / Pozdrawiam
paweld

TRon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2867
Just keep in mind the LCL internals and things that never wil be fixed along with the current widget development status and the roadmap as there is no use in trying to beat a dead horse.

On top of that note that it is possible some of the encountered issue might already be present in the issue tracker.

Other than that a bug is a bug  :)

gasensor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Quote
1. Report bugs here: https://gitlab.com/freepascal.org/lazarus/lazarus/-/issues
Ok, I'll submit it later
https://gitlab.com/freepascal.org/lazarus/lazarus/-/issues/40996

Quote
if you set the icon for item, it is normal that you will not see the radio selection - the icon covers
Actually, the MainItem is indicated by adding a color box to indicate that it is selected if there is an ICON in the case

Quote
none of the menu items you haven't set as "Checked" - that's why the check mark is not visible. In addition, I recommend setting "AutoChecked" to "True" so that the selection changes automatically when you click on the menuitem.

I tried. If "AutoChecked" and "Checked" are set to true, it will work fine on Windows, but you need to repeat the operation twice to change the menuitem on Linux.
It's a sad story.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2024, 11:23:55 pm by gasensor »

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7074
Quote
1. Report bugs here: https://gitlab.com/freepascal.org/lazarus/lazarus/-/issues
Ok, I'll submit it later

Seriously: I'd suggest not marking forum posting subject lines like that.

It's all very well mentioning something here and, unless somebody presents a convincing argument that you're mistaken, then raising a formal bug report.

It's all very well annotating that kind of posting with e.g. "(is this a bug?)".

But simply raising something here will not get you the kind of kudos that a well-presented bug report will, particularly if you can also make coherent suggestions as to how something can be improved.

In addition, people who get here via a Google search might be misled by a [BUG REPORT] tag into thinking that a problem is being worked on so they need not raise it themselves, when that is not in fact the case.

MarkMLl
MT+86 & Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN & graphics in 128Kb.
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.
GitHub repositories: https://github.com/MarkMLl?tab=repositories

gasensor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
@MarkMLl

Is the "formal bug report" a bit harder for users?

"kudos"? I only care if it solves the problem.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2024, 12:09:39 am by gasensor »

dsiders

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1170
Don't feed the troll.
Preview Lazarus 3.99 documentation at: https://dsiders.gitlab.io/lazdocsnext

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7074
Is the "formal bug report" a bit harder for users?

Yes, but gives the developers some chance of managing the project.

MarkMLl
MT+86 & Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN & graphics in 128Kb.
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.
GitHub repositories: https://github.com/MarkMLl?tab=repositories

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018