Recent

Author Topic: [BUG REPORT]Toolbutton is not working properly at ubuntu-gnome  (Read 2186 times)

gasensor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Toolbutton is not working properly at ubuntu-gnome 22.04LTS  24.04LTS (Probably all ubuntu have this kind of problem).

When Toolbutton in tbsCheck mode, users cannot distinguish between up and down states.

Lazarus 2.2.6 /3.4 (Tested, same problem)

append a test project.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2024, 11:57:06 pm by gasensor »

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7057
Re: [BUG REPORT]Toolbutton is not working properly at ubuntu-gnome
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2024, 03:06:36 pm »
What happens if you use Lazarus/LCL downloaded from /this/ project, i.e. to avoid the possibility of an Ubuntu-specific problem?

If it fails, then report it on the FPC/Lazarus bugtracker.

If it doesn't fail, report it to the Ubuntu maintainers.

In either case, append a test project.

MarkMLl
MT+86 & Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN & graphics in 128Kb.
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.
GitHub repositories: https://github.com/MarkMLl?tab=repositories

gasensor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: [BUG REPORT]Toolbutton is not working properly at ubuntu-gnome
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2024, 10:19:31 pm »
A test project has been added. Due to attachment size limitations, there are no executable files.

The same executable runs fine on Linux MX23.3

Does such an issue still need to be submitted to ubuntu? I don't know.

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7057
Re: [BUG REPORT]Toolbutton is not working properly at ubuntu-gnome
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2024, 10:35:07 pm »
A test project has been added. Due to attachment size limitations, there are no executable files.

The same executable runs fine on Linux MX23.3

That sounds like it's probably an Ubuntu issue. However the thing to consider here is that Ubuntu and MX (whatever that is- sorry) probably use different window managers and my guess is that one is using Wayland and the other X11. So you really do need to test like-against-like hence...

[/quote]
Does such an issue still need to be submitted to ubuntu? I don't know.
[/quote]

Look, I'm going to be blunt but not unfriendly. OK?

It was made clear to you in another thread that this project is not responsible for what happens when an Ubuntu (or Debian et al.) package maintainer builds it for operation with their distributed libraries. I'm not an Ubuntu user so can't usefully test it: do what I said and build yourself copies of FPC and Lazarus from this project's repositories (or at least use FpcUpgradeDeluxe to do so).

Having done that you can decide whether to use Ubuntu's or Lazarus's bug reporting facility. Please don't assume that merely raising it on a discussion forum will lay it in front of the relevant developers in a way that- in theory at least- obliges them to do something about it ;-)

MarkMLl
MT+86 & Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN & graphics in 128Kb.
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.
GitHub repositories: https://github.com/MarkMLl?tab=repositories

gasensor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: [BUG REPORT]Toolbutton is not working properly at ubuntu-gnome
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2024, 11:27:15 pm »
I tested lazarus3.99 (form gitlab Branche main) with the same issue.

Considering Ubuntu's share of Linux, and the fact that he is the father/grandfather of numerous distros, be cautious.

Quote
It was made clear to you in another thread that this project is not responsible for what happens when an Ubuntu (or Debian et al.) package maintainer builds it for operation with their distributed libraries.

Using the Lazrus name/logo, users will think that this is Lazarus official... If the IDE isn't working properly, it's the reputation of Lazarus that is being damaged, not ubuntu (or other distributions).

Can you imagine that I found so many problems just to write a multi-platform software for electronics and do some testing?

TRon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2853
Re: [BUG REPORT]Toolbutton is not working properly at ubuntu-gnome
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2024, 12:37:24 am »
Considering Ubuntu's share of Linux, and the fact that he is the father/grandfather of numerous distros, be cautious.
The choices Ubuntu maintainers make are their responsibility not ours.

Pushing wayland though user's throats, at this stage, is a very bad choice no matter how you look at it.

Quote
Using the Lazrus name/logo, users will think that this is Lazarus official... If the IDE isn't working properly, it's the reputation of Lazarus that is being damaged, not ubuntu (or other distributions).
You still seem to be missing the point trying to put something of a blame somewhere where it doesn't belong.

Quote
Can you imagine that I found so many problems just to write a multi-platform software for electronics and do some testing?
That you lack the knowledge to setup cross-compilation and/or build the compiler and IDE (from source) is your responsibility. Instead of asking how to do get yourself acquainted to these things you keep deflecting by trying to push the responsibility to our developers using your choice of distribution (and their decisions) as an argument.

I truly believe that your motivation is to lift the experience to a higher level but your approach isn't working, at least not for me.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MStoUfrsCig
« Last Edit: June 19, 2024, 12:45:17 am by TRon »

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7057
Re: [BUG REPORT]Toolbutton is not working properly at ubuntu-gnome
« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2024, 09:42:09 am »
I tested lazarus3.99 (form gitlab Branche main) with the same issue.

In that case use Lazarus's bug tracker, and I suggest appending a test program.

Quote
Considering Ubuntu's share of Linux, and the fact that he is the father/grandfather of numerous distros, be cautious.

Not relevant, and you'll make yourself unpopular pushing that.

Quote
Using the Lazrus name/logo, users will think that this is Lazarus official... If the IDE isn't working properly, it's the reputation of Lazarus that is being damaged, not ubuntu (or other distributions).

Not relevant, and you'll make yourself unpopular pushing that.

Quote
Can you imagine that I found so many problems just to write a multi-platform software for electronics and do some testing?

I sympathise, there's a lot of things about open source projects that leave me deeply frustrated, but you will find it far more useful to focus on laying the issue in front of the people who have some chance of fixing it.

Final questions for consideration:

* If you're using the GTK2 widget set, what happens if you switch to Qt?

* Is your system using Wayland rather than X11?

* Can you switch to X11 without major disruption?

* What happens if you use the most recent Ubuntu rather than one which is a couple of years old?

MarkMLl
MT+86 & Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN & graphics in 128Kb.
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.
GitHub repositories: https://github.com/MarkMLl?tab=repositories

dsiders

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1169
Re: [BUG REPORT]Toolbutton is not working properly at ubuntu-gnome
« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2024, 06:59:55 pm »
* What happens if you use the most recent Ubuntu rather than one which is a couple of years old?

You forgot one:

* What happens if you install from Lazarus provided .debs, .rpms, or from source instead of blindly using the broken crap provided in Debian packaging?
Preview Lazarus 3.99 documentation at: https://dsiders.gitlab.io/lazdocsnext

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7057
Re: [BUG REPORT]Toolbutton is not working properly at ubuntu-gnome
« Reply #8 on: June 19, 2024, 07:16:47 pm »
You forgot one:

* What happens if you install from Lazarus provided .debs, .rpms, or from source instead of blindly using the broken crap provided in Debian packaging?

He's already said that he's tried one from Gitlab main, which I think narrows it down considerably.

Although he's not confirmed explicitly that Ubuntu's using Wayland, I think that has to be the first suspect. But realistically, particularly if he can confirm that the most recent Ubuntu's got the same problem, I think it's an LCL/widgetset issue.

I can't say that I'm at all happy with the situation. Looking at it more generally, it might be that apps in general (i.e. not just those written using Lazarus and the LCL) will have to refrain from some of the "cleverness" they're used to which make GUIs built with Windows and X11 cleverly pretty.

MarkMLl
MT+86 & Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN & graphics in 128Kb.
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.
GitHub repositories: https://github.com/MarkMLl?tab=repositories

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2899
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: [BUG REPORT]Toolbutton is not working properly at ubuntu-gnome
« Reply #9 on: June 20, 2024, 02:44:55 am »
He is using Wayland, but back in U22.04 it was relatively unobtrusive. Recent Gnome releases often have only two themes out of the box, dark and almost dark. Heavy black title bars and zero width borders.

Well behaved gtk2 lazarus apps use only the colors from the current theme, while theme sets typically have ten or more possible colors, in Gnome in particular, most of those colors are the same. And dark.

So, a black rectangle on a black background with zero width borders ....

Gnome is keen to 'simplify' the UI. Canonical is still pining for Unity, an OS designed for a phone, so, rich widget sets like we love in Lazarus, depending on detail, are just not catered for.

gasensor, try Mate, Budgie, Cinnamon, XFCe etc. Not only will your Widget sets look better but your negative mood may improve as well.

Davo


edit: typo (mood v mode)
« Last Edit: June 21, 2024, 02:20:11 am by dbannon »
Lazarus 3, Linux (and reluctantly Win10/11, OSX Monterey)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng and my github - https://github.com/davidbannon

gasensor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: [BUG REPORT]Toolbutton is not working properly at ubuntu-gnome
« Reply #10 on: June 20, 2024, 11:58:05 pm »
Same issue at ubuntu 24.04LTS

dsiders

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1169
Re: [BUG REPORT]Toolbutton is not working properly at ubuntu-gnome
« Reply #11 on: June 21, 2024, 12:40:02 am »
Don't feed the troll.
Preview Lazarus 3.99 documentation at: https://dsiders.gitlab.io/lazdocsnext

gemy

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: [BUG REPORT]Toolbutton is not working properly at ubuntu-gnome
« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2024, 11:23:00 am »
Hi,

i am using Linux Mint Xfce Edition (coming from Windows) and while i am trying to port some of my programms from RAD Studio to Lazarus i noticed the same problem. When compiled, i cant see any difference between checked and unchecked buttons.

      object ToolButton2: TToolButton
        Left = 39
        Top = 0
        Hint = 'Cursor Informations'
        AllowAllUp = True
        AutoSize = True
        Caption = 'ToolButton2'
        Down = True
        Grouped = True
        ImageIndex = 2
        ParentShowHint = False
        ShowHint = True
        Style = tbsCheck
        OnClick = ToolButton2Click
      end

I have found another but with auto complete. If in the settings - windows - "single switch in the taskbar" (for the lazarus program) is activated, the cursor no longer jumps into the editor window after autocomplete. You have to click in the code window to continue typing.



Edit: After some testing i found out its a problem from the linux mint color appearance. Scheme "adwaita gtk2, gtk3" does not show a difference between a checked and a unchecked button.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2024, 12:28:16 pm by gemy »

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018