Recent

Author Topic: ArcaOS 5.1: is it supported?  (Read 2506 times)

AlexTP

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2438
    • UVviewsoft
ArcaOS 5.1: is it supported?
« on: September 06, 2023, 02:35:39 pm »
ArcaOS 5.1 supports booting with UEFI, as I 've read. It boots within few seconds on modern PCs!

What if I cross-compile by text editor to OS/2 and run the binary on ArcaOS? Or let's make simpler question: what if I compile some Lazarus GUI examples (with listboxes, MainMenu, buttons, listViews, treeViews) for OS/2 and run the result on ArcaOS?
« Last Edit: September 06, 2023, 06:05:46 pm by AlexTP »

ccrause

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 919
Re: ArcaOS 5.1 is supported?
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2023, 05:34:32 pm »
From Arca Noa's website: "Yes, everything that you were able to run under IBM’s OS/2 installs and runs on ArcaOS."

So give it a go!

AlexTP

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2438
    • UVviewsoft
Re: ArcaOS 5.1 is supported?
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2023, 06:04:32 pm »
I want to see impression of how Lazarus GUI runs on ArcaOS. Because the GUI framework is needed: GTK or Qt. ArcaOS has Qt (Qt4 it seems?). Anybody tried Qt4 apps under Arca?

valdir.marcos

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1106
Re: ArcaOS 5.1: is it supported?
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2023, 03:14:38 pm »
ArcaOS 5.1 supports booting with UEFI, as I 've read. It boots within few seconds on modern PCs!

What if I cross-compile by text editor to OS/2 and run the binary on ArcaOS? Or let's make simpler question: what if I compile some Lazarus GUI examples (with listboxes, MainMenu, buttons, listViews, treeViews) for OS/2 and run the result on ArcaOS?


From Arca Noa's website: "Yes, everything that you were able to run under IBM’s OS/2 installs and runs on ArcaOS."

So give it a go!
Just curiosity.

ArcaOS is a Linux flavor and uses some kind of "Wine" to support old "IBM’s OS/2" 32 and 16bit versions in modern 64bit world?



I have used IBM OS/2 before Microsoft run away of the project with its brand new Microsoft Windows 95.

IBM OS/2 was and kept being really stable up to even being used three decades latter by some few companys up today when Microsoft Windows 95 and following versions never succeed in being stable enough at all.

It's a pitty that IBM gave up on IBM OS/2 project.

"Looming competitive situation" is the best expression to explain what happend at that occasion.

Looking back, it seems that "fair play" was not so in vouge at that time.

A funny fact of that old times is that Microsft DOS and Windows 95/98 (at least) executables/binaries worked stably on IBM OS/2, but not the contrary. :)



OS/2
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OS/2

Half an operating system: The triumph and tragedy of OS/2
https://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2019/11/half-an-operating-system-the-triumph-and-tragedy-of-os2/5/

AlexTP

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2438
    • UVviewsoft
Re: ArcaOS 5.1: is it supported?
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2023, 03:47:34 pm »
ArcaOS is not Linux flavor, it is based on OS2 kernel which is updated to the modern times.

AlexTP

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2438
    • UVviewsoft
Re: ArcaOS 5.1: is it supported?
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2023, 05:31:37 pm »
Maybe I can compile OS2 program for Qt4, but what to do with libqt4Pas? I cannot compile it for OS2 and even for Linux. I need ready libQt4Pas for OS2. It seems it's not ready?

valdir.marcos

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1106
Re: ArcaOS 5.1: is it supported?
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2023, 05:40:46 pm »
ArcaOS is not Linux flavor, it is based on OS2 kernel which is updated to the modern times.
Do you know whether ArcaOS supports Microsft Windows 7 or 10 or 11 (Vista, 8 and 8.1 were bad idea anyway) executables/binaries or GUI programs/applications just like the old days of IBM OS/2?

This is part of the main objectives of some open source projects such as Wine and ReactOS.

AlexTP

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2438
    • UVviewsoft
Re: ArcaOS 5.1: is it supported?
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2023, 05:48:04 pm »
@valdir.marcos
I don't know it. I even don't know the version of Qt on ArcaOS.

PascalDragon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5585
  • Compiler Developer
Re: ArcaOS 5.1: is it supported?
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2023, 09:44:51 pm »
Maybe I can compile OS2 program for Qt4, but what to do with libqt4Pas? I cannot compile it for OS2 and even for Linux. I need ready libQt4Pas for OS2. It seems it's not ready?

If they have a Qt4 port then they should also have a port of qmake. You'll need to compile libqt4pas with that (I think Qt4 in general still supports OS/2, so you might be able to cross compile). And then you'd have to try whether the LCL is fit enough as you might need to add a few more defines and ifdefs.

AlexTP

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2438
    • UVviewsoft
Re: ArcaOS 5.1: is it supported?
« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2023, 11:22:19 pm »
I think I will sit here and wait for someone to prepare libQt4Pas and check its work. Sorry.

duralast

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: ArcaOS 5.1: is it supported?
« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2024, 08:21:42 pm »
Port of Qt Base module version 5 to OS/2 by bww bitwise works GmbH.
https://github.com/bitwiseworks/qtbase-os2

Quote
This is a port of the QtBase module of the Qt software development framework version 5 to the OS/2 operating system (and its derivants). This port is carefully crafted and maintained by bww bitwise works GmbH (also referred to as bitwiseworks).

The current version of the port implements all major parts of the QtBase module and is suitable to compile and run a large amount of Qt 5 applications on OS/2. It, however, carries a beta status and has the following limitations compared to versions of Qt 5 for officially supported platforms (Linux, macOS and Windows)

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018