Recent

Author Topic: Changes in form/datamodule only are not compiled in new compilation?  (Read 2461 times)

egsuh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1320
First, I compile an application.
Then I change some part of a form, like focused tab of a tabcontrol.
And I re-run the app, but the focused tab is the old one, before the change.

Can you confirm?


dsiders

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1093
Re: Changes in form/datamodule only are not compiled in new compilation?
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2024, 03:33:06 am »
First, I compile an application.
Then I change some part of a form, like focused tab of a tabcontrol.
And I re-run the app, but the focused tab is the old one, before the change.

Can you confirm?

So which pieces of critical information have you not provided?
Preview Lazarus 3.99 documentation at: https://dsiders.gitlab.io/lazdocsnext

egsuh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1320
Re: Changes in form/datamodule only are not compiled in new compilation?
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2024, 09:21:00 am »
Quote
So which pieces of critical information have you not provided?

I have provided all the critical information.

cdbc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1157
    • http://www.cdbc.dk
Re: Changes in form/datamodule only are not compiled in new compilation?
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2024, 10:04:40 am »
Hi
Use 'Build' instead of 'compile'.
What you're experiencing, I have seen before and as a result, I now use 'build' whenever I change something deeper in the source-tree.
It can happen, no sweat  :D
Regards Benny
If it ain't broke, don't fix it ;)
PCLinuxOS(rolling release) 64bit -> KDE5 -> FPC 3.2.2 -> Lazarus 2.2.6 up until Jan 2024 from then on it's: KDE5/QT5 -> FPC 3.3.1 -> Lazarus 3.0

dseligo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1244
Re: Changes in form/datamodule only are not compiled in new compilation?
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2024, 10:44:51 am »
Quote
So which pieces of critical information have you not provided?

I have provided all the critical information.

I tried example which shows your problem (which you provided) on the same OS you are using, with same Lazarus and FPC version you have and I can't reproduce your problem.

egsuh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1320
Re: Changes in form/datamodule only are not compiled in new compilation?
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2024, 10:58:32 am »
Quote
I tried example which shows your problem (which you provided) on the same OS you are using, with same Lazarus and FPC version you have and I can't reproduce your problem.

I found that the "changed" properties are in the frame included in the form, not the form itself. But I do not put the frame at design time, instead I add it in the following way, and changes in the frame are not reflected in the final form.

       with TOneFrame.Create(self) do
             Parent := TabSheet2;
             alignment := alclient;
       end;
« Last Edit: April 10, 2024, 11:12:35 am by egsuh »

dsiders

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1093
Re: Changes in form/datamodule only are not compiled in new compilation?
« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2024, 04:17:52 pm »
Quote
So which pieces of critical information have you not provided?

I have provided all the critical information.

SOmeone with nearly 1300 post should know they need to mention at least the compiler and IDE versions. Good luck.
Preview Lazarus 3.99 documentation at: https://dsiders.gitlab.io/lazdocsnext

af0815

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1293
Re: Changes in form/datamodule only are not compiled in new compilation?
« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2024, 06:03:10 pm »
If you use Frames at design time it is known that changes in the frame often not seen in the used frame container. If you reload the whole project it is recognized. As far as I know it was in Delphi the same .
regards
Andreas

egsuh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1320
Re: Changes in form/datamodule only are not compiled in new compilation?
« Reply #8 on: April 12, 2024, 03:53:40 am »
If there are any changes in .pas file (it adds * to the unit name) then that unit is recompiled. I'm just wondering why the same is not applied to .lfm file. Doesn't any changes in the object inspector change .lfm file? And once .lfm file is changed, shouldn't it re-compiled?

I'm not saying any approach is correct or not, nor better or worse. But if I'm the designer of Lazarus, I think I would make it recompiled automatically.

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018