Recent

Author Topic: Question about OOP : hiding / exposing data to other objects  (Read 4143 times)

DrakkTheSeafarer

Question about OOP : hiding / exposing data to other objects
« on: April 09, 2024, 09:56:05 pm »
I am a freepascal hobbyist. Please give me some advice about "Object-oriented Design" / OOP.

here is an interesting example using SDL2: https://www.freepascal-meets-sdl.net/loading-and-rendering-a-bitmap-file/

in structured programming i can easily do something like that (abstract code) :
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. procedure Draw(p : TDrawableResource; x,y : integer );
  2. begin
  3.   //process data from p
  4. end;
P ist a record or typed pointer. So "procedure Draw" gives the functionality to draw.. and p holds the data to be loaded and to be cleaned after usage. p also exposes its full variables/data to Draw() and to the rest of the program. This is also a great drawback (no encapsulation).

How can i do that in OOP ? A Class TDraw another Class TDrawableResource. How to expose fields~data from TDrawableResource only to TDraw but hide them from the rest of the program? Please help.

jamie

Re: Question about OOP : hiding / exposing data to other objects
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2024, 11:41:09 pm »
The class needs to be in a different unit to start with, the one you are trying to hide some items.

Then you need to use the PRIVATE key word for example to select the list of items that you do not want to be visible in other units.

There is also "Strict PRivate"

The areas you want exposed should be in the PUBLIC section.

that should give you an idea.

There is also "protected"

The only true wisdom is knowing you know nothing

Joanna

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2024, 11:56:43 pm »
Protected will share it only with the descendants of the class. There is also strict protected  :D so if you want to only share it with one other class, that class must be a descendant of the one who has it.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2024, 12:00:42 am by Joanna »