Forum > Windows (32/64)

Complex package installation problem

(1/6) > >>

JonBondy:
I have used Delphi for decades, but I am new to Lazarus.

I installed Lazarus on D: on my Win 11 system, and that may have been a horrible idea.  After lots of problems (including bad paths specifying C:) I uninstalled Lazarus and installed it fresh on C:

That did not improve things, because I think I need to generate Win32 code from my Win64 system, and cross compiling was not working.  So, again, I uninstalled Lazarus, and installed the Win32 version.

I am still having lots of problems.

I am trying to get the LazAudioPlayer to compile on my machine.  The files that come with LAP include some of the components and their source code.  As a newbie, I flailed around trying to get the compiler to see the components in the LAP directory tree. In the end I used the online package manager to install the RackCtls package (no error messages so far, but I may have not gotten there yet) and repeatedly installed and uninstalled ACS.  I downloaded the ACS in ZIP format but have no idea where to put the contents. 

At the moment, the error message that has persisted after repeated uninstalls and installs of Lazarus is that file acs_mixer cannot be found, even though there is a copy in the directory tree under LAP (but not in any directory tree associated with Lazarus) as well as one here:
C:\Users\jon\AppData\Local\lazarus\onlinepackagemanager\packages\acs\src\filters

I see LOTS of "duplicate unit" messages.  For example, for acs_types I find

"D:\Delphi\Lazarus\Audio Player\lib\i386-win32\acs_types.ppu" -- in the LAP directory tree
and
"laz_acs_lib 3.0.3", ppu="C:\Users\jon\AppData\Local\lazarus\onlinepackagemanager\packages\acs\packages\lib\i386-win32\acs_types.ppu",
source="C:\Users\jon\AppData\Local\lazarus\onlinepackagemanager\packages\acs\src\filters\acs_types.pas"