Recent

Author Topic: Opening a Project does not work  (Read 1178 times)

Weitentaaal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
  • Weitental is a very beautiful garbage depot.
Opening a Project does not work
« on: March 04, 2024, 04:09:19 pm »
Hello,

today i tried to Open a Project a friend of mine wrote. i do Project->OpenProject and then select the "lpi" File. i do not get any sort of error message and the IDE is empty. How can i fix this. i attached a Picture of the IDE after opening the project. There are 3 or 4 small projects that i want to include in my programm but i can only open one of those.

The project does create a Library.

Handoko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5159
  • My goal: build my own game engine using Lazarus
Re: Opening a Project does not work
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2024, 04:15:39 pm »
Maybe version incompatibility issue. I remember projects saved using later versions of Lazarus can't be opened using older versions.

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6171
Re: Opening a Project does not work
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2024, 04:20:32 pm »
Golden oldie  ;)

Quote
Lazarus: 2.0.12 x86_64-win64-win32/win64
Compiler Version: 3.2.2

Did Laz 2.0.12 come with FPC 3.2.2 ??
Why did you upgrade FPC but not Lazarus?

Weitentaaal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
  • Weitental is a very beautiful garbage depot.
Re: Opening a Project does not work
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2024, 04:24:33 pm »
my coworker didn't want to update lazarus beacuse of a unit. after updating, the unit did not work anymore and i cant realy change his mind. Its sad i know.

But the main problem here should be the version ?

Edit: tried to use an old DLL version of this project and got the following error message: "0xc000007b" and when i try to start the application in the IDE, then it wont even start. When i comment out the DLL function calls then everything works again.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2024, 04:30:08 pm by Weitentaaal »

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6171
Re: Opening a Project does not work
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2024, 11:08:58 am »
But the main problem here should be the version ?
That depends on what version the project you are trying to load is made in.

Edit: tried to use an old DLL version of this project and got the following error message: "0xc000007b" and when i try to start the application in the IDE, then it wont even start. When i comment out the DLL function calls then everything works again.
That's a whole other issue (nothing to do with not seeing the form when loading a foreign project.

0xc000007b would probably mean there is something wrong with the DLL.

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2802
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: Opening a Project does not work
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2024, 11:24:44 am »
Hello,

today i tried to Open a Project a friend of mine wrote. ....
Now, I am unsure just who is using the old and new version, you, your friend or your co-worker ?
If its just a case of opening the project, maybe you need access to a newer version of Lazarus, open the project, go to Project Options -> Miscellaneous and tick the box that says "Maximize compatibility of project files (LPI and LPS). Save, publish that project and take it to the older Lazarus system where it will probably be OK.

Quote
The project does create a Library.
If you are trying to open an older, incompatible DLL, I am of absolutely no help to you !

Davo
Lazarus 3, Linux (and reluctantly Win10/11, OSX Monterey)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng and my github - https://github.com/davidbannon

Gustavo 'Gus' Carreno

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Professional amateur ;-P
Re: Opening a Project does not work
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2024, 12:06:11 pm »
Hey Weitentaaal,

Our dear @wp has a tool to fix a newer version of the .lpi to be used in older versions of Lazarus:

https://sourceforge.net/p/lazarus-ccr/svn/HEAD/tree/applications/fixlp/

I've used many times and it always fixes the issue of having an empty project list.

Hope that helps!!

Cheers,
Gus
Lazarus 3.99(main) FPC 3.3.1(main) Ubuntu 23.10 64b Dark Theme
Lazarus 3.0.0(stable) FPC 3.2.2(stable) Ubuntu 23.10 64b Dark Theme
http://github.com/gcarreno

Weitentaaal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
  • Weitental is a very beautiful garbage depot.
Re: Opening a Project does not work
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2024, 12:15:10 pm »
thank you all for the help.

to clarify the problem because i wrote a mess at the start:

i have the version 2.0.12/3.2.2 installed because i had to revert back to 2.0.12 due to some issues with newer versions (i did not have the issues, my coworker had them. he said that some parts were missing and i did not ask which and just reverted back)

my friend wrote us a dll to extend our application. he wrote it with 3.0RC1 / 3.2.2.

i am currently installing a second installation of lazarus with the version 3.0 / 3.2.2. i backed up my config and my projects. if this fails too then i will try to use the tool provided by @wp (https://sourceforge.net/p/lazarus-ccr/svn/HEAD/tree/applications/fixlp/).

i will update this post if i succeeded
« Last Edit: March 05, 2024, 12:16:46 pm by Weitentaaal »

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2802
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: Opening a Project does not work
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2024, 12:54:56 pm »
Its possible to have more than one version of Lazarus installed (and even running) at the same time.

Its probably worth considering if you are in in this mess you describe.

And, further, current version of Lazarus is 3.2, not 3.0. Who knows, maybe the problem with 3.0 that you have has been fixed ?

Davo
Lazarus 3, Linux (and reluctantly Win10/11, OSX Monterey)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng and my github - https://github.com/davidbannon

Gustavo 'Gus' Carreno

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Professional amateur ;-P
Re: Opening a Project does not work
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2024, 01:01:31 pm »
Hey Weitentaaal,

If you want to avoid this happening, on newer versions of Lazarus, go to Project Options(Ctrl-Shift-F11)->Miscellaneous->Maximize compatibility..., like you see in the attached image.

This thing has bitten me so many times in the arse, that it's now a tick of mine to turn that on every time I start a new project!!

Hopes this helps!!

Cheers,
Gus
Lazarus 3.99(main) FPC 3.3.1(main) Ubuntu 23.10 64b Dark Theme
Lazarus 3.0.0(stable) FPC 3.2.2(stable) Ubuntu 23.10 64b Dark Theme
http://github.com/gcarreno

JuhaManninen

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4474
  • I like bugs.
Re: Opening a Project does not work
« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2024, 05:45:36 pm »
i have the version 2.0.12/3.2.2 installed because i had to revert back to 2.0.12 due to some issues with newer versions (i did not have the issues, my coworker had them. he said that some parts were missing and i did not ask which and just reverted back)
Ask him the details. When you explain the problem here, I am sure it can be solved.
Lazarus 2.0.12 is very old. Your coworker really should update.
Mostly Lazarus trunk and FPC 3.2 on Manjaro Linux 64-bit.

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6171
Re: Opening a Project does not work
« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2024, 06:16:00 pm »
Quote
Lazarus 2.0.12 is very old. Your coworker really should update.
At the very least you should ask him what he's missing in Lazarus 3.

(It could be as simple as a package.)

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018