Recent

Author Topic: Access Violation TPQConnection := False  (Read 1945 times)

LzMan

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Access Violation TPQConnection := False
« Reply #15 on: March 04, 2024, 02:40:28 pm »
Normally, I use the debugger of Lazarus. I wrote in a previous post that the AV also happens when I attach the Visual Studio debugger to the standalone executable. The AV is definitely there. The AV is also there in x64dbg.

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6585
Re: Access Violation TPQConnection := False
« Reply #16 on: March 04, 2024, 03:07:23 pm »
Normally, I use the debugger of Lazarus.
What debugger is that exactly?
Lazarus can have several.
Gdb or fp-debugger.

And depending on the debugger it's also important which debugger options you set.

But so it's not the ide itself that's the problem but the attachment of a debugger.

I'm not familiar with x64dbg or de debugger from VS so I don't know if there are known issues there.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2024, 03:09:50 pm by rvk »

LzMan

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Access Violation TPQConnection := False
« Reply #17 on: March 04, 2024, 06:25:57 pm »
Can we stay on topic, please? How can I debug the LCL?

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6585
Re: Access Violation TPQConnection := False
« Reply #18 on: March 04, 2024, 07:09:08 pm »
Can we stay on topic, please? How can I debug the LCL?
You would need to rebuild Lazarus with debug option.
https://forum.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php?topic=61774.0

The problem is that you probably don't want LCL because the database function is not from LCL but from FPC. You could build both with debugging on to be able to trace through the source.

How did you install FPC and Lazarus?
You could try fpcupdeluxe but I'm not sure how to set the debug options (never used fpcupdeluxe).

Zvoni

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2747
Re: Access Violation TPQConnection := False
« Reply #19 on: March 04, 2024, 07:19:25 pm »
Instead of waxing philosophical questions, TS should try a barebone sample-app without „visuals“ (read: simple console app), and check if his AV still appears (my bet is: no, it won’t AV if done correctly)
One System to rule them all, One Code to find them,
One IDE to bring them all, and to the Framework bind them,
in the Land of Redmond, where the Windows lie
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Code is like a joke: If you have to explain it, it's bad

jcmontherock

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 272
Re: Access Violation TPQConnection := False
« Reply #20 on: March 04, 2024, 11:47:00 pm »
With MySQL i'm using: 
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. if Connection1.Connected then Connection1.Close;
without problem...
Windows 11 UTF8-64 - Lazarus 4RC1-64 - FPC 3.2.2

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018