Forum > LCL

[SOLVED] What is the meaning of TFont.CharSet? How to use it?

(1/3) > >>

Hartmut:
I'm a beginner to Fonts and type 'TFont' and I want to know, what is the meaning of TFont.CharSet? The Help only says: "The Character Set to be used by the current Font". But what is a "Character Set" as a part of a font? You can assign a value from 0..255 there.

Question1: what happens / should happen, if I assign an arbitrary value to TFont.CharSet (I tested some values and saw no difference)?

Question2: are all 256 values always allowed? Where from do I know, which numbers are "allowed"  for a specific font?

Some explanations are very welcome. Thanks in advance.

Josh:
have you looked at the examples in lazarus
lazarus\examples\fontenum
the mainunit.pas around line 200 where it poulates, may give you some idea

--- Code: ---Add(ANSI_CHARSET);
  Add(DEFAULT_CHARSET);
  Add(SYMBOL_CHARSET);
  Add(MAC_CHARSET);
  Add(SHIFTJIS_CHARSET);
  Add(HANGEUL_CHARSET);
  Add(JOHAB_CHARSET);
  Add(GB2312_CHARSET);
  Add(CHINESEBIG5_CHARSET);
  Add(GREEK_CHARSET);
  Add(TURKISH_CHARSET);
  Add(VIETNAMESE_CHARSET);
  Add(HEBREW_CHARSET);
  Add(ARABIC_CHARSET);
  Add(BALTIC_CHARSET);
  Add(RUSSIAN_CHARSET);
  Add(THAI_CHARSET);
  Add(EASTEUROPE_CHARSET);
  Add(OEM_CHARSET);
  Add(FCS_ISO_10646_1);
  Add(FCS_ISO_8859_1);
  Add(FCS_ISO_8859_2);
  Add(FCS_ISO_8859_3);
  Add(FCS_ISO_8859_4);
  Add(FCS_ISO_8859_5);
  Add(FCS_ISO_8859_6);
  Add(FCS_ISO_8859_7);
  Add(FCS_ISO_8859_8);
  Add(FCS_ISO_8859_9);
  Add(FCS_ISO_8859_10);
  Add(FCS_ISO_8859_15);
--- End code ---

there are no doubt others,

Hartmut: