Recent

Author Topic: Has anyone installed Lazarus + qt5 environment on Windows?  (Read 1899 times)

Glocke

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
Has anyone installed Lazarus + qt5 environment on Windows?
« on: September 20, 2023, 01:50:14 pm »
I would like to develop and test the environment qt5 widget environment on Windows. I have downloaded qt5 and re-compiled Lazarus for qt5, but when I start it I get errors.

I think it would be possible....but I can't find anything!

Maybe a combination of a particular version of qt5 plus some help like an external dll.

On Linux I haven't had any problems under Kubuntu (KDE), I have even gives me the impression that it is a nicer environment than the default version distributed on linux in GTK.

zeljko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1521
    • http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/User:Zeljan
Re: Has anyone installed Lazarus + qt5 environment on Windows?
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2023, 02:19:25 pm »
What errors ? 32 or 64 bit ?

Glocke

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
Re: Has anyone installed Lazarus + qt5 environment on Windows?
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2023, 03:55:49 pm »

Win64, with Qt5Pas1.dll in the same directory.

Compile options -> IDE Normal

Latest stable version of Lazarus

Windows Error
0xc000007b

zeljko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1521
    • http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/User:Zeljan
Re: Has anyone installed Lazarus + qt5 environment on Windows?
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2023, 04:22:36 pm »
You have 32bit Qt5Pas1.dll in lazarus binaries, but I don't have ability or time to build 64bit one.
Search in forum for 64bit Qt5Pas1.dll since there should be someone's build afair, but cannot remember exactly who and where.
Or install Qt 5.15 with qt installer, and build your own Qt5Pas1.dll.

Glocke

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
Re: Has anyone installed Lazarus + qt5 environment on Windows?
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2023, 08:03:42 pm »
Thank you! I finally created mine based (qt5.12.12) on the instructions of a GitHub repository.

https://mega.nz/file/DU11ib5K#76yhIH3wf2Vi4bytIKrqTckt5w1K9tNeArS3-F3YZvI

Here it is.

On the other hand, I do not understand how in RC1, qt6 is offered, when not even offered more or less "official" (wiki), a solution for qt5 on x64.

I do not understand anything! I think that the effort to advance in Lazarus, is quite lame in many aspects.

Add also, that those who intend to develop in qt5, will need to download the "runtime" of qt5.

I will try with qt6, to see what point of integration offers the RC1 to "dare" to include qt6 in the future version of Lazarus 3.0.


I will give news.
Stay tuned....


Glocke

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
Re: Has anyone installed Lazarus + qt5 environment on Windows?
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2023, 08:19:08 pm »

Github resource with  instructions (Rusky!) for futures cases...

https://github.com/zoltanleo/fpc_lazarus_notes



zeljko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1521
    • http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/User:Zeljan
Re: Has anyone installed Lazarus + qt5 environment on Windows?
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2023, 08:45:08 pm »
Thank you! I finally created mine based (qt5.12.12) on the instructions of a GitHub repository.

https://mega.nz/file/DU11ib5K#76yhIH3wf2Vi4bytIKrqTckt5w1K9tNeArS3-F3YZvI

Here it is.

On the other hand, I do not understand how in RC1, qt6 is offered, when not even offered more or less "official" (wiki), a solution for qt5 on x64.

I do not understand anything! I think that the effort to advance in Lazarus, is quite lame in many aspects.

Add also, that those who intend to develop in qt5, will need to download the "runtime" of qt5.

I will try with qt6, to see what point of integration offers the RC1 to "dare" to include qt6 in the future version of Lazarus 3.0.


I will give news.
Stay tuned....

Developers are not all mighty wizards. Me and others are working on lazarus project when we have enough spare time, so feel free to update wiki for any information you find useable for others.
Qt6 isn't even planned to be 32bit for windows, since there's no official Qt6 32bit builds, only 64bit. If someone wants 32bit then must build complete Qt6 and bindings for 32bit.
Qt6Pas1.dll 64bit, builded against 6.2.xx (to be compatibile with later versions of Qt6 library) is welcome, I'll add it to lazarus binaries.

tetrastes

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 424
Re: Has anyone installed Lazarus + qt5 environment on Windows?
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2023, 09:08:44 pm »

Github resource with  instructions (Rusky!) for futures cases...

https://github.com/zoltanleo/fpc_lazarus_notes

For English just click on README_ENG.md.

Glocke

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
Re: Has anyone installed Lazarus + qt5 environment on Windows?
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2023, 09:33:04 pm »
zeljko!! Don't take it the wrong way!

Many of us appreciate the work you contribute! Especially you and others like you, I've been reading you. I mean, it's all about coordination and walking together. For example, all of us developers spend more time developing or solving a problem, than documenting how it was solved.

And that is the easiest and least time consuming part.


The same with developing functions, methods, classes, etc...


In any case, my sincere thanks for creating Lazarus.
It is a truly multiplatform tool by itself. Integrating with qt, for me is experimenting.

Thanks guys!



El Salvador

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
Re: Has anyone installed Lazarus + qt5 environment on Windows?
« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2023, 10:08:17 pm »
If you don't want to use QT installer, you can use AQTInstall (especially useful for unattended installation and scripts). https://aqtinstall.readthedocs.io/en/latest/getting_started.html

> aqt install-qt windows desktop 6.2.4 win64_mingw

zeljko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1521
    • http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/User:Zeljan
Re: Has anyone installed Lazarus + qt5 environment on Windows?
« Reply #10 on: September 21, 2023, 08:26:23 am »
Just an note: For your deployment you can use Qt6Pas1.dll build against 6.2, but it can be build also against 6.5 and deployed with Qt 6.5 dlls, it just works. eg I'm using Qt5Pas1.dll built against 5.6.2 and it works when it's deployed with 5.12.8 w/o problems (32 bit). Qt5Pas is just compatibile with 5.6 api, and Qt6Pas with 6.2, there's no methods which come in later versions of Qt.

El Salvador

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
Re: Has anyone installed Lazarus + qt5 environment on Windows?
« Reply #11 on: September 21, 2023, 04:08:29 pm »
Curiosity: For the libqt*pas building (not deploy), what changes does using one version of qt (6.2 vs 6.5, for example) compared to another?

zeljko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1521
    • http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/User:Zeljan
Re: Has anyone installed Lazarus + qt5 environment on Windows?
« Reply #12 on: September 21, 2023, 04:09:47 pm »
Curiosity: For the libqt*pas building (not deploy), what changes does using one version of qt (6.2 vs 6.5, for example) compared to another?

None.

ginoo

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Has anyone installed Lazarus + qt5 environment on Windows?
« Reply #13 on: November 22, 2023, 07:27:08 pm »
Thank you! I finally created mine based (qt5.12.12) on the instructions of a GitHub repository.

https://mega.nz/file/DU11ib5K#76yhIH3wf2Vi4bytIKrqTckt5w1K9tNeArS3-F3YZvI

Here it is.

On the other hand, I do not understand how in RC1, qt6 is offered, when not even offered more or less "official" (wiki), a solution for qt5 on x64.

I do not understand anything! I think that the effort to advance in Lazarus, is quite lame in many aspects.

Add also, that those who intend to develop in qt5, will need to download the "runtime" of qt5.

I will try with qt6, to see what point of integration offers the RC1 to "dare" to include qt6 in the future version of Lazarus 3.0.


I will give news.
Stay tuned....

Hi everyone,
I decompress the above file (with qt5) I add my program under windows and I get the following error:
"This application failed to start because no Qt platfoprm plugin could be initialized. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem".
What am I missing to do?

Thank

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018