Recent

Author Topic: Strip symbols from executable  (Read 15393 times)

Anonymous

  • Guest
Strip symbols from executable
« on: December 07, 2004, 11:45:13 pm »
Hi all,
there is a problem with "Strip symbols from executable" -Xs in compiler options->linking. I'm trying to strip out all debugging infos in order to reduce the executable size, but the compiler seems to ignore -Xs option: without -Xs I obtain 5 mb; with -Xs 8 mb... :shock:
Now I'm using strip.exe utility.

My Lazarus version is win32 0.9.2 beta

Vincent Snijders

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2661
    • My Lazarus wiki user page
Strip symbols from executable
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2004, 09:18:28 am »
Did you disable generating debug info and line number info?

Anonymous

  • Guest
Strip symbols from executable
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2004, 01:56:56 pm »
Yes, I did it. No way to strip out... :/

Anonymous

  • Guest
Strip symbols from executable
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2004, 12:49:24 pm »
I have the same problem: swithced to strip.exe and upx

Lightning

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 422
Strip symbols from executable
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2004, 02:31:56 pm »
Good old console does the trick :)
The future must be... Fast and OpenSource so...
Think Open and Lightning Fast!

marmin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
    • http://www.naton.org
Strip symbols from executable
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2005, 12:22:11 am »
I d-loaded the newest WIN32 version, still, the 'Strip' option don't work.
manually strip does, indeed, the trick.
Marmin^.Style
Location: Pointer Land!

G-Man

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Strip symbols from executable
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2005, 02:39:01 am »
I am new here . I have used Delphi 5, 6, 7 . I allso am haveing a problem with the Strip............
THanks For the comment's

Lightning

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 422
Strip symbols from executable
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2005, 12:14:34 pm »
Type "strip --strip-all yourapp" in the console.
The future must be... Fast and OpenSource so...
Think Open and Lightning Fast!

johny_cage

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • http://www.cage.za.pl
Strip symbols from executable
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2005, 01:02:03 pm »
I recommend you to search the forum, there are a few topics which are resolving this problem.
1. Go to the:
<Lazarus dir>\pp\bin\i386-win32\strip --strip-all file.exe
file.exe must be in the strip directory
2. download the upx:
<upx dir>\upx -9 source_file.exe -o output_file.exe
3. From 5 to 8 megs it decreases executabel file to 400-600 KB of normal form with a few components
 
On the linux you should look for /usr/share/<Lazarus dir>
Type man strip in the console

Anonymous

  • Guest
Strip symbols from executable
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2005, 06:53:22 pm »
The problem probably lies in ld.exe so even using strip --strip-all seems do not stripping all symbols

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018