Recent

Author Topic: [SOLVED] Resize projectwizard dialog  (Read 1304 times)

cris75

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
[SOLVED] Resize projectwizard dialog
« on: July 13, 2023, 01:19:51 pm »
In an attempt to resize the wizard dialog at IDE startup i modified projectwizarddlg.lfm and increased the various widths (I'd like to have this form a little bit larger) then I did a cleanup of common files and rebuilt the IDE, but it doesn't work.
Is there a way to increment the width of the wizard? In preferences there is no option for it, thank you
« Last Edit: September 27, 2023, 11:37:51 am by cris75 »
Lazarus: 2.2.6
FPC: 3.2.2
32+64bit
Current OS: Win10 64bit

cris75

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Resize projectwizard dialog
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2023, 10:17:09 pm »
Bump
Lazarus: 2.2.6
FPC: 3.2.2
32+64bit
Current OS: Win10 64bit

cris75

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Resize projectwizard dialog
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2023, 10:22:35 pm »
Did I post a question that does not deserve any answer?
I'd really like to extend the width of that form.. thanks  :(
Lazarus: 2.2.6
FPC: 3.2.2
32+64bit
Current OS: Win10 64bit

wp

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11445
Re: Resize projectwizard dialog
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2023, 11:01:01 pm »
Did I post a question that does not deserve any answer?
Maybe nobody missed this feature? I for myself have never seen this dialog before you mentioned it, and had to investigate how to open it.

But anyway: I opened the projectwizard unit from the ide folder in the Lazarus installation, changed the width of the form and recompiled the IDE ("Tools" > "Build Lazarus with profile ..."). And in the newly created Lazarus the project wizard has the new width. So, what is the problem? "It doesn't work" is alway a useless description of an issue...

cris75

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
[SOLVED] Re: Resize projectwizard dialog
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2023, 11:37:32 am »
..you're perfectly right to point out me this post has not much sense.. this is in my opinion a classic situation in which happens to quickly write a post for a "secondary" and not at all important thing - that still can be easily solved..
It happened me to give a quick look at the unit in question in two different occasions in the span of two years and in the specific moment that I felt a little bothered 'couse I couldn't see the full path of the recent projects.
I realize only now I almost certainly didn't adjusted and saved the relative .lfm file (on both times!!) before lauching the ide reconstruction.. me dumb..
I'll try to avoid to do silly requests in the future, thank you   :(
Lazarus: 2.2.6
FPC: 3.2.2
32+64bit
Current OS: Win10 64bit

wp

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11445
Re: [SOLVED] Re: Resize projectwizard dialog
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2023, 12:12:53 pm »
I'll try to avoid to do silly requests in the future, thank you   :(
Don't worry. There are no "silly" questions. Here it helped me to find a dialog which I had never seen before...
« Last Edit: September 27, 2023, 01:33:00 pm by wp »

JuhaManninen

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4370
  • I like bugs.
Re: [SOLVED] Re: Resize projectwizard dialog
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2023, 12:41:18 pm »
... I felt a little bothered 'couse I couldn't see the full path of the recent projects.
That is a valid issue. I widened the window and also used csDropDownList for the Listbox.

There still is no guarantee that a very long path would show. A robust fix would be to use dots to shorten a name like '/username/verylongpath/.../subpath/projectname'. That is already used in the IDE elsewhere.

[Edit]That is not necessary because the window can be resized when really needed.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2023, 12:52:16 pm by JuhaManninen »
Mostly Lazarus trunk and FPC 3.2 on Manjaro Linux 64-bit.

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018