Forum > Beginners

TStringGrid : Conflict between "OnEditingDone" and "Columns.Clear"

(1/4) > >>

Nel_Fie:
DISCLAIMER: I'm a self-taught hobbyist with no formal background in programming, and while I've already made a lot of progress with Free Pascal and Lazarus, I still have a lot of blind spots. Please use simple terms and explain steps in details even if they seem completely obvious to you.

I've run into an issue with a TStringGrid component: my "OnEditingDone" event has a handler to process any changes made - which in turn calls a more general procedure which updates the whole grid from scratch. As part of this latter update, the whole grid is cleared with the Columns.Clear method.

However, this frequently causes an error, which (according to the call stack) starts in "grids.pas", goes to "control.inc" line 616 (within the "EDITINGDONE" function in both cases) then over to TStringList itself in "stringl.inc" - with not immediately traceable cause in my own code:

--- Quote ---Project [NAME] raised exception class 'EStringListError' with message:
List index (5) out of bounds
--- End quote ---

Now, as far as I can tell, based on the description of TGridColumns.Clear the problem might be due to a conflict between the fact that I'm calling "Clear" from within "OnEditingDone"s handler, while "Clear" itself starts an updating process that actively suppresses notification events, conflicting with ongoing handlers in the process.

The solution that seems the most immediately obvious to me would be to find a way to delay the update procedure that contains the "Clear" process in a separate thread so that the handler for "OnEditingDone" has time to end, but before I try this (and potentially waste more time) I wanted to know if there was a better/simpler/"canonically correct" solution to this problem.