Recent

Author Topic: [Solved] Fatal: Cannot open include file "daemonapp.inc"  (Read 855 times)

vonda

[Solved] Fatal: Cannot open include file "daemonapp.inc"
« on: March 30, 2023, 01:54:34 pm »
Hi,
I am new to Lazarus and Freepascal. I am trying to make a service following this: https://wiki.freepascal.org/Daemons_and_Services

I downloaded the source code. But when I try to build "TestDaemonCodeOnly", I get error:
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. Compile Project, Mode: Release, Target: x86_64-win64\Release\TestDaemonCodeOnly.exe: Exit code 1, Errors: 1
  2. daemonapp.pp(461,2) Fatal: Cannot open include file "daemonapp.inc"

I have Windows 11, I have installed the lazdaemon package and I have added the folder with "daemonapp.inc" file into Project options -> Paths -> Other unit files.

Can you please suggest what can be wrong?
« Last Edit: March 31, 2023, 08:24:11 am by vonda »

marcov

• Administrator
  • FPC developer.
Re: Fatal: Cannot open include file "daemonapp.inc"
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2023, 03:15:38 pm »
You included the FPC source directory into your unit path, or you have a duplicate daemonapp.pp somewhere.

Standard, FPC uses precompiled files rather than source directories.

wp

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2023, 03:40:37 pm »
I have Windows 11, I have installed the lazdaemon package and I have added the folder with "daemonapp.inc" file into Project options -> Paths -> Other unit files.
Did you add the lazdaemon package to the requirements of the project (Project options, "Add" > "New requirement" > select "lazdaemon" in the packages listbox > "OK")? In Lazarus, access to libraries is made via packages, not by extending the unit search path like in Delphi - leave the "Paths" > "Other units files" alone unless you know what you are doing or you structured your project files in subdirectories. After fixing this, do a "Run" > "Build" in order to delete the project output directory from the previous compilation attempts.

vonda