Recent

Author Topic: IBTable - user defined select statement  (Read 290 times)

Nicole

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 745
IBTable - user defined select statement
« on: March 22, 2023, 03:35:20 pm »
Can I use a user-defined SQL statement to fill a IBTable?
If yes: What is the name of this propery?

Zvoni

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1763
Re: IBTable - user defined select statement
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2023, 04:12:09 pm »
What is a "user defined SQL-Statement"?!?!?!
Allow the user to "formulate" an SQL-Statement???
One System to rule them all, One Code to find them,
One IDE to bring them all, and to the Framework bind them,
in the Land of Redmond, where the Windows lie
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Code is like a joke: If you have to explain it, it's bad

Nicole

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 745
Re: IBTable - user defined select statement
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2023, 04:26:49 pm »
I correct myself: define the SQL-statement at runtime by code.

dogriz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re: IBTable - user defined select statement
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2023, 04:36:26 pm »
For custom SQL statements you should use IBQuery or IBDataSet.
FPC 3.2.2
Lazarus 2.2.4
Debian x86_64, arm

korba812

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 349
Re: IBTable - user defined select statement
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2023, 04:57:30 pm »
IIRC TIBQuery, TIBTable and TIBUpdateSQL were created to maintain some compatibility when porting code from BDE. I recommend using TIBDataSet because you have more control over the DataSet, including your own SQL for insert, update, delete, generators, etc...

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018