Recent

Author Topic: Assembler window keeps opening  (Read 1235 times)

smithcts

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
Assembler window keeps opening
« on: February 26, 2023, 12:08:07 am »
Debugging a Pascal program and want to set some watches to evaluate values of variables. Place the editor cursor at the point I want and select run to cursor.  Immediately the assembler window opens.  Can't get back to the main code page and have to stop the session. Not sure how to stop this behavior.  Not much on this.

Using Lazarus v2.2.4 with FPDebug as the backend.

Would welcome suggestions.  Thanks.

smithcts

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
Re: Assembler window keeps opening
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2023, 02:41:00 am »
Solved.

Found the clues to the answer in of Martin_fr's old post regarding a debugger issue in a Mac OS problem.  I had turned off debugging info to make the EXE smaller.  Turned it back on and the assembler window stopped appearing.

Thanks Martin.

af0815

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1291
Re: Assembler window keeps opening
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2023, 08:38:22 am »
If you define Build Modes in the Project option you can handle this switching of options in a comfortable way.
regards
Andreas

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9915
  • Debugger - SynEdit - and more
    • wiki
Re: Assembler window keeps opening
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2023, 01:01:01 pm »
select run to cursor. 
Just making sure it really is "run to cursor" and not "step to cursor". The latter will not do what you expect.
Though "step ..." is not enabled, until you already running/debugging.

From your description I am not sure why you get the asm window.... But you should always be able to close it, and see the source editor.
Only if the asm window did open, it means your app paused outside the code in your source. (e.g. the RTL, maybe the internal startup code...)

It is possible it stopped because something crashed before the code at the cursor was reached... But then the debugger should have displayed some popup. (You did not mention any ...)

Maybe you have some "writeln" but there is no STDIO open (no console win)?


What is your OS ? Bitness (32/64)?

Console app, or GUI?

Can you provide some example project (full project with lpi, lpr and unit(s))?

Or can you test with a new app, just one or 2 lines of code (For a GUI app, in FormCreate event).
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. var MyVar : Integer;
  2. begin
  3.   MyVar := 1;
  4.   MyVar := random(MyVar);
  5.   MyVar := MyVar+1;
  6. end
  7.  

Then run to the 2nd or 3rd line of that, and see if it works.

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018