Recent

Author Topic: Duplicate identifier error  (Read 4277 times)

smithcts

Duplicate identifier error
« on: February 25, 2023, 07:30:35 pm »
Folks.  Noob here.  Decades ago I did a lot of hobby type work with Turbo Pascal.  Enjoyed it.  Was relaxing.  Discovered Lazarus/FreePascal a couple weeks ago and have written my first Pascal program in decades.  Saw that I could use the app development section in Lazarus to make a really nice looking interface and was attempting to write something I could port the Pascal program into.

Right off the bat I ran into this weird duplicate identifier issue; screenshot attached.  The compiler seems to be taking segments of variable identifiers and if those sections are the same, calling the entire variable name a duplicate.  I have to be making some fundamental error as it seems impossible to write even a small program if this is the case.

I cannot find this in a search of the forums.  Mods, if this is in the wrong place, please move it.  Best to ask those who actually know what they're doing.

Thanks folks.

Bogen85

Re: Duplicate identifier error
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2023, 07:42:39 pm »
The compiler seems to be taking segments of variable identifiers and if those sections are the same, calling the entire variable name a duplicate.  I have to be making some fundamental error as it seems impossible to write even a small program if this is the case.

Are you sure that is what is happening? (That the compiler is doing that and is thinking the partials are duplicates of the original PlaneOwn?)

Did you try correcting the first instance of a duplicate? (Where there are two complete PlaneOwn variables being declared).

The compiler would not be doing the visual highlight. That would be some mechanism in the IDE.

« Last Edit: February 25, 2023, 08:16:17 pm by Bogen85 »

Thaddy

• Sensorship about opinions does not belong here.
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2023, 07:45:29 pm »