Recent

Author Topic: [SOLVED] Version Info  (Read 898 times)

MountainQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
[SOLVED] Version Info
« on: February 07, 2023, 09:43:28 am »
Hi everyone;
I would like to make the version info (major, minor, revision) part of the filename of the executable.
Unfortunately I could not find anything; can anyone point in the right direction.
Best
« Last Edit: February 07, 2023, 01:45:47 pm by MountainQ »

Ally

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Version Info
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2023, 10:30:34 am »
Hello MountainQ,

here are two examples.
rhsVersionFromFileTest determines the version of any exe file.
rhsVersionNumberTest determines the own version number.

Greetings Roland 

TRon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 834
Re: Version Info
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2023, 10:34:40 am »
@Ally:
I do believe that MountainQ wants to have those numbers in the executable filename that Lazarus generated.

@MountainQ
afaik that is not possible. Last time I checked the version/revision numbers in the project options are not stored in a macro and thus unfortunately cannot be used for generating the name of the executable file.

MountainQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Version Info
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2023, 12:26:56 pm »
@TRon:
you're exactly right about my intent. That is a bit surprising; I was already wondering whether it is possible to create such a macro.
@Ally:
Thanks for your quick response.

vangli

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Version Info
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2023, 12:32:44 pm »
A start may be looking at the project *.lpi file. Version/Revision numbers are stored there. Bent
Regards Bent

MountainQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Version Info
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2023, 12:37:57 pm »
@Vangli
They are indeed; but how can I automatically access them when recreating the executable to be part of its filename?
Regarding the answer of TRon; is there a macro that can retrieve that information.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2023, 12:40:19 pm by MountainQ »

TRon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 834
Re: Version Info
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2023, 12:47:29 pm »
You could perhaps automate things using something like user Ally's source-code by creating a small tool that retrieves the version/revision information and renames the executable automatically for you.

In the projects options you can add a command that can be executed before/after compile/build/make command from Lazarus. I assume that the name of executable as generated by Lazarus is available as macro to be used in that edit field (I am not sure as I never tried it).

Zvoni

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1660
Re: Version Info
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2023, 01:07:14 pm »
At a guess it could be done in Project-Options in Custom options (or whatever it's called).
There is an example how to influence Unitpath and IncPath.
Wouldn't be surprised if you can influence the output-filename there
One System to rule them all, One Code to find them,
One IDE to bring them all, and to the Framework bind them,
in the Land of Redmond, where the Windows lie
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Code is like a joke: If you have to explain it, it's bad

MountainQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Version Info
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2023, 01:45:33 pm »
@TRon:
thanks a lot; if there is no other obvious solution, build one!

Thanks to all; this was a helpful discussion.

Ally

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: [SOLVED] Version Info
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2023, 02:46:12 pm »
Hello MountainQ,

here is an example how to extend any EXE file with its version number.
This is not exactly what you are looking for, but maybe ee helps a bit.

Greetings Roland

TRon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 834
Re: [SOLVED] Version Info
« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2023, 01:28:41 pm »
My quick poor attempt at lvr (Lazarus Versioninfo Renamer) to be used from the IDE  %)

rcmz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: [SOLVED] Version Info
« Reply #11 on: February 08, 2023, 11:11:22 pm »
Hi,

You could use rxVersion from RX Tools.

Good Luck
Ramiro

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018