Forum > TAChart

[SOLVED] How to set distance between Labels? (I guess?)

(1/2) > >>

AFFRIZA 亜風実:
So, I'm really new to TAChart. I want to make a something like an app to read audio graph file from txt but the graph is kind of hard to read (second screenshot attachment).
Is that possible to set a distances between labels in the bottom axis like in the first screenshot in attachment?

Demo in the zip attachment.

KodeZwerg:
You might simply give shorter label caption, eg: 1000 = 1k = less space on screen needed

AFFRIZA 亜風実:

--- Quote from: KodeZwerg on January 16, 2023, 09:42:21 am ---You might simply give shorter label caption, eg: 1000 = 1k = less space on screen needed

--- End quote ---
How about set the bottom axis distance like 0 to 200 is 1/3 of chart width, 200 to 2000 also 1/3 of chart width, and 2000 to 20000 is 1/3 of chart width. So those parts will be stretched.

Like the bass area is 20Hz to 200Hz, I want to highlight that by stretching into 1/3 of chart width. Same with the midrange 200Hz to 2000Hz.

AFFRIZA 亜風実:
If found a thread by wp https://forum.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php/topic,13333.0.html but no idea how that's work.

wp:
In order to prevent overlapping labels you should increase the value of the Intervals.MaxLength of the chart's BottomAxis to something like 120. This is the maximum distance between adjacent label positions before the labeling procedure switches to next label base.

Doing this will result in linear axis labels (see attachment "linear_axis"). The image that you give as a reference, however, has a logarithmic axis, i.e. the distance between 20 and 200, between 200 and 2000 and between 2000 and 20000 is the same.

Some more steps are required in TAChart to create a log plot:

* Drop a TChartAxisTransformations component to the form. Assign it to the Transformations property of the chart's BottomAxis