Recent

Author Topic: How to setup Lazarus for Windows ARM64?  (Read 602 times)

Tourniquet

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
How to setup Lazarus for Windows ARM64?
« on: January 05, 2023, 01:42:17 am »
Heya,

I'd like to compile ARM64 Apps for my Surface Pro X to run them natively. Is ARM64 support now part of Lazarus? If not, what would I need to do, to set it up to make it work?

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2280
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: How to setup Lazarus for Windows ARM64?
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2023, 10:48:17 am »
Hmm, easy ones first hey ?

Your question really should be about the Compiler, FPC, if you could get that running on your machine, you could probably build Lazarus from source.  But it does not, to me, seem that there is a FPC for Win-Arm, closest is wince, its windows and Arm but not, I suspect as you want it.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/freepascal/files/

Not sure if there would be any cross compile option ....

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

Thaddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12567
Re: How to setup Lazarus for Windows ARM64?
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2023, 11:02:37 am »
For Arm64 or Better AARCH64 there is at least Linux and IOS. Maybe WINCE64 would work on surface.
I can't find anything about AARCH64-win64 yet.
Writing code in an overly complex way is usually merely a complete misunderstanding of the goal you are trying to achieve.

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2280
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: How to setup Lazarus for Windows ARM64?
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2023, 11:16:27 am »
Is there a 64bit winCE ?

"- Wince-ARM (cross compiled from win32-i386)"

seems to indicate its 32bit, I had a WinCE little hand held thingo back in the year 2000, I assumed it was based on Win98 or so. I assume Surface must be 64bit.

What surprised me is no one asked for this before now .....

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

Thaddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12567
Re: How to setup Lazarus for Windows ARM64?
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2023, 12:07:25 pm »
wince64 used to work. It was the basis for KOL64. Don't use it anymore, but has been working for over 4 years.
Writing code in an overly complex way is usually merely a complete misunderstanding of the goal you are trying to achieve.

PascalDragon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4872
  • Compiler Developer
Re: How to setup Lazarus for Windows ARM64?
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2023, 07:38:00 pm »
I'd like to compile ARM64 Apps for my Surface Pro X to run them natively. Is ARM64 support now part of Lazarus? If not, what would I need to do, to set it up to make it work?

FPC 3.3.1 supports aarch64-win64, but that target is not yet ready for prime time due to a bug, so you can't setup Lazarus for it as it wouldn't work.

I can't find anything about AARCH64-win64 yet.

Your search skills need work.  ::)

wince64 used to work. It was the basis for KOL64. Don't use it anymore, but has been working for over 4 years.

A “wince64” does not exist. Never has.

Thaddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12567
Re: How to setup Lazarus for Windows ARM64?
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2023, 09:05:36 pm »
The latter typo was caused because we used the KOL wince base for Kol64... You could by no means have guessed that, so apologies.
reason: at that point KOL wince was already unicode ready.'Years before delphi
« Last Edit: January 09, 2023, 09:07:19 pm by Thaddy »
Writing code in an overly complex way is usually merely a complete misunderstanding of the goal you are trying to achieve.

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018