Recent

Author Topic: [solve] Series is not assigned - why not?!  (Read 923 times)

Nicole

[solve] Series is not assigned - why not?!
« on: November 04, 2022, 03:09:04 pm »
I created a TAChart as before at design-time.
Added a series as before at desing-time.
Adding values to this series as usual at design-time.

at runtime:
series1.AddXY(100,200,'test');   

and get:

Exception-Klasse »External: ACCESS VIOLATIONg:
Access violation reading from address $00000000000000E8.
 In Datei 'tacustomseries.pas' in Zeile 978:
if Assigned(FSource) then

A check shows me, that series1 is nil.

How and why that?
I am new at TAChart, but have a handful of charts drawn fine in the meanwhile.
Always the series were created with the form and even in this form there is a chart, which is created fine.

Why may this series be nil at runtime?

« Last Edit: November 04, 2022, 07:14:08 pm by Nicole »

wp

Re: Series is not assigned - why not?!
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2022, 03:39:00 pm »
I don't understand your text: You say you are adding values to the series at design-time, and then you show code for runtime? So what?

Did you change the series' name? If not then you should be aware that "Series1" is the name which Delphi gives to design-time created series. But TAChart puts the name of the chart and the type of the series to the front of it: "Chart1LineSeries1". Which name is shown in the object inspector for the series (look at the object tree above the property grid)?

Nicole

[solved] Re: Series is not assigned - why not?!
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2022, 04:29:44 pm »
I added the series at design-time and populate them at runtime.

but...
Dear me, - how can this happen!?

And you solved it again by making me look into the object inspector: I used a wrong series name.
The next question would be: How that?
I used
self.
and then I waited for the editor to give me the right name.
It gave me the wrong name.