Recent

Author Topic: FV and UTF-8 - is it feasible  (Read 3420 times)

alpine

FV and UTF-8 - is it feasible
« on: October 31, 2022, 10:25:37 am »
I intend to write a small maintenance application in a text mode Linux and since I don't have much experience with the Linux console I'd like to ask whether FV can handle UTF-8 properly.

It is a Debian like Linux and there is no X. It will be accessed remotely and despite a Web interface is an option, I would prefer to access it with a terminal emulator via ssh - I'm not a Web developer either.   

So, is the UTF-8 handled properly in FV?  The app needs to interact with a DB (sqlite3) thus it will need to handle international characters.
"I'm sorry Dave, I'm afraid I can't do that."
—HAL 9000

marcov

• Administrator
  • FPC developer.
Re: FV and UTF-8 - is it feasible
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2022, 11:00:45 am »
Afaik massive amounts of work on that subject was done in Trunk by Nikolaj, specially the deeper ends.

As new FV is relatively rare, I haven't heard practical experiences of people using that.

alpine

« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2022, 05:56:25 pm »
Afaik massive amounts of work on that subject was done in Trunk by Nikolaj, specially the deeper ends.

As new FV is relatively rare, I haven't heard practical experiences of people using that.
Thanks for the reply!

Reading the sub forum I found that a Unicode branch exists:
https://forum.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php/topic,54894.msg408140.html#msg408140
But I cannot judge how complete is it because I'm not much into this Linux KVM stuff. Based on my experience with TV some >30 years ago: INT 16h, Video Memory, etc. - I suspect it is not quite trivial.

Anyway, I'll try to investigate a bit more on the topic.
—HAL 9000

marcov

• Administrator
  • FPC developer.
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2022, 07:48:23 pm »
The contents of that branch is what has been added to trunk.