Recent

Author Topic: Free Pascal Standards  (Read 1155 times)

Ten_Mile_Hike

Free Pascal Standards
« on: August 13, 2022, 11:56:12 pm »
Hello,
Except for one BASIC and one PASCAL class in 1982 (I used punch cards) I am self taught and therefore unfamiliar with many programming concepts. Could someone explain to me

1. WHY it is important that FPC maintains compatibility with Delphi as much as possible? (I'm NOT arguing that it should or that it shouldn't)

2. Related to the question above...I know how to manipulate the elements of a Tmemorystream  with "move" and "size" and other commands, but would it be against the
    compatibility doctrine to, for instance, add built in Procedures like "Leftmem,Rightmem, Midmem" functionality that works just like "Leftstr, Rightstr,
    Midstr". Yes; I realize that I could roll my own, that's not the point; what I'm trying to understand here is what is the doctrinal line between
    Delphi compatibility vs. new and innovative features.

Thank You

marcov

• Administrator
  • FPC developer.
Re: Free Pascal Standards
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2022, 12:03:18 am »
Hello,
Except for one BASIC and one PASCAL class in 1982 (I used punch cards) I am self taught and therefore unfamiliar with many programming concepts. Could someone explain to me

1. WHY it is important that FPC maintains compatibility with Delphi as much as possible? (I'm NOT arguing that it should or that it shouldn't)

Simply the amount of code and people using it out there, compared to FPC/Lazarus.

Also the own FPC extensions are really not that great to begin with (IMHO).

2. Related to the question above...I know how to manipulate the elements of a Tmemorystream  with "move" and "size" and other commands, but would it be against the
    compatibility doctrine to, for instance, add built in Procedures like "Leftmem,Rightmem, Midmem" functionality that works just like "Leftstr, Rightstr,