Recent

Author Topic: Robocopy GUI Front-End (Windows Only)  (Read 1447 times)

ad1mt

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Robocopy GUI Front-End (Windows Only)
« on: August 14, 2022, 08:03:18 pm »
I've been working a Windows GUI front-end to the Robocopy command-line utility (Windows only).
There is an existing Robocopy GUI front-end which I've used but don't like it for various reasons.
If anyone is interested, you can have a copy for free. Although its reasonably well-tested, it is an early version, and therefore there is a chance of bugs.
Regards, Mark Taylor.

kirchfritz

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • WIN10 LAZ 2.2.2 FPC 3.2.2
Re: Robocopy GUI Front-End (Windows Only)
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2022, 08:43:37 pm »
I would appreciate a copy. Where can I find it?

ad1mt

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Robocopy GUI Front-End (Windows Only)
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2022, 04:55:57 pm »
Its almost finished... just polishing the rough edges.  This is my first-ever Windows GUI program, so I've had a lot to learn; although the brilliant Free Pascal & Lazarus made much easier than the nightmare that is C++

In another day or two, when its good enough to give away, I'll make it available on my web page, and let you know.


ad1mt

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Robocopy GUI Front-End (Windows Only)
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2022, 05:58:25 pm »
My web site can't do downloads yet... I'm going to have to add that feature, which will take a while to code.
So I've attached a zip of the source code.

It is suppoed to be very easy to use, but at the same time, allow a power-user to configure it in detail.
There is no installer, just unzip into a folder, and run directly from there. The program uses an ini file, and creates it with default values. The ini file values can be hand-edited, and will be preserved by the program. The program assumes that the Robocopy executable is in the path, but if not, then the full path can be edited into the ini file.

Please give feedback... I welcome criticism/complaints, both of the functionality of the program and the coding style.

regards, Mark Taylor

El Salvador

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: Robocopy GUI Front-End (Windows Only)
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2022, 07:49:11 pm »
Thank you so much. Can you upload source in github or gitlab?

ad1mt

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Robocopy GUI Front-End (Windows Only)
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2022, 01:01:46 pm »
I've attached a zip of the source code.
Here is a slightly updated version 1.4
It gives the option of quitting without saving settings, or saving settings & exiting.
Mark.

ad1mt

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Robocopy GUI Front-End v1.5
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2022, 01:15:47 am »
Here's an updated version 1.5 of my Robocopy GUI Front-End for Windows.
Fixes:
1. Correctly excludes some system files that cannot be copied.
2. Correctly creates a default .ini file when it does not already exist.

It's now also available on my web page:

   https://mark-taylor.me.uk/index.php?page=Software
« Last Edit: November 23, 2022, 01:46:26 am by ad1mt »

KodeZwerg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 581
  • Fifty shades of code.
    • Delphi & FreePascal
Re: Robocopy GUI Front-End v1.5
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2022, 04:01:50 am »
Here's an updated version 1.5 of my Robocopy GUI Front-End for Windows.
Hello Mark, I am missing the GUI for ROBOCOPY app  :-X
I mean, beside input and output your GUI does not show any options that ROBOCOPY use/support. (Thats what most users await when they download a GUI for a console app.)
If you need help at coding, there is much space for improvement  O:-)
« Last Edit: Tomorrow at 31:76:97 by KodeZwerg »

ad1mt

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Robocopy GUI Front-End (Windows Only)
« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2022, 02:55:40 am »
Hi KodeZwerg,
Thanks for your suggestion... I should write some documentation. But instead, here is a brief description of how it works...
The config is stored in an .ini file. If you run the program with no .ini file it will create one.
I intended to include an .ini file in the zip, but it appears I forgot to do this; so I've attached an updated zip, which now includes an .ini file.
Here is the contents of the recommended .ini file:
Code: Text  [Select][+][-]
  1. [Robocopy]
  2. Executable=ROBOCOPY.EXE
  3. Source=C:\
  4. Destination=D:\
  5. CopyOptions=/COPY:DAT /E /R:0 /XA:SHO /XD "System Volume Information" "$RECYCLE.BIN"
  6. LogOptions=/LOG:robocopy.log /V /NP
To configure alternate Robocopy options, you must edit the .ini file.
The GUI program preserves the options in the .ini file.
If the Robocopy command is not in the path on your PC, then you can edit the .ini file executable setting to include the full path to Robocopy, and the GUI will preserve this.
To call Robocopy to perform the copy, click the copy button.
To exit the GUI and save the source & destination folders, use the [Save & Exit] button.
To exit the GUI without saving the source & destination folders, use the [Quit] button.
There are two options that can be configured in the GUI:
1. Save settings
If you untick this, the source & destination folders are not saved in the .ini file, but all other settings are preserved.
2. Create a log file.
If you untick this, the GUI still preserves the log config in the .ini file; it just disables log file creation, by omitting the log options in the call to Robocopy.
I've also included this verbiage in a read-me file in the zip.
There is no installer; unzip, build, copy the folder to a suitable location, create a shortcut to the exe file, and copy the shortcut to your desktop/taskbar/startmenu.
This was never intended to be a big project, just a little program to help with my development backups. I thought others might find it useful.
Feel free to modify this program if you wish. There is no license, it is in the public domain.
Hope this helps.
regards, Mark.

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018