Recent

Author Topic: IBX - Cannot keep IBDatabase connected at design time and run time (UPDATED)  (Read 962 times)

Eloir

I have been using IBX together with Delphi5 since 2000, and I still on this, and happy with this.
But now I am moving to Lazarus and I faced to this strange behavior:
I cannot keep IBDatabase connected at design time and run time. But...

- It works fine on Delphi 5 (design time plus runtime).
- I am able to connect two instances of FlameRobin to the same database at the same time,
  and even running FlameRobin plus Delphi5.
- In Lazarus, when I try to keep IBDatabase connected at design time and runtime, I got an exception.
  This is a known behavior and the solution, I know, is to disconnect database before compiling application.

By the tests I did, it looks like IBDatabase connects to database in a "exclusive mode", if it is possible.
Well, if IBX works fine on Delphi, I believe that it would be possible also on Lazarus.

By the way, I tried IBDatabase.AllowStreamedConnected=true, but it doesn't work.
I am now on Windows 11, and as I can remember, it did work on Windows 10.

SOLUCTION:
On a fresh install of Windows, I installed Lazarus + IBX package before installing Firebird.
In such a situation, I don't know how, Ibx is configured to work as "embedded" (I confirmed it by stopping Firebird service and running my aplication, which worked normally without Firebird).
Since I didn't figure out how to reverse this, I completely uninstalled Lazarus and installed it again.
Now it works fine.

Hope this helps somebody.

« Last Edit: May 11, 2022, 07:09:43 pm by Eloir »

tonyw

• MWA Software
Re: IBX - Cannot keep IBDatabase connected at design time and run time
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2022, 10:33:10 am »
The first point to make is that IBX for Lazarus has evolved considerably from the version of IBX that you would have used with Delphi 5. Having said that, it should work at least as well.