Forum > Beginners

CODING CARD GAME USING FREE PASCAL

(1/2) > >>

HelloEveryone12345:
Hello everybody.

So for my college project, I have to code a random card game (think UNO), and I am in the beginning stages.

I have been trying to code a situation where;

I have already created a 2D matrix producing all of my cards, but now I want to code a section that allows me to deal out a certain number of cards, both x cards at the beginning of the game for the player (e.g 7 cards) and then be able to deal out y number of cards as the game continues (E.g 2, or 4).

The second thing I'm struggling with is how to do this so that the cards being dealt are removed from the stack of cards available in the original deck (with all of the cards) so that I do not accidentally hand out too many of the same card (a way to keep track of cards dealt, and cards still in the pile).

I am very new at programming, and pascal, so sorry if this did not come off as clear as it should. Any suggestions are welcome.

version Free Pascal Lazarus 2.2.0

Bart:
Show us what you've got so far.

Bart

speter:
A couple of ideas:
 +  create an array with 52 items (perhaps numbers of type "integer") - representing the 52 cards
      (if you have a different number of cards in your pack... adapt)
      (I use a one-dimensional array because it is easier to shuffle)
 + look into sorting (to shuffle the pack) - "bubble sort" is quite simple; "insertion sort" is also simple.
 + create a variable that represents your current position in the pack and increment this when you deal a card...