Forum > Beginners

Use music (wav) from resource

<< < (2/2)

wp:
For me the sound starts to play instantly. I am rather sure that the reason for your delay is somewhere else. Please check out the attached demo which simply executes Remy's code from the other thread. Button1 reads the stream from the resource and plays the sound. Button2 assumes that the stream already has been read when the application starts - this should be a tiny bit faster, but I am sure that this cannot be noticed.

tonse:
hmmm... it seems i am a beginner.. :( but ....
There remains a delay. Even with your program. It is short but too long. I want a click with the response time of a typewriter click feedback. That must be somewhere below 100msec, or it gets inconvenient. Your example has a longer delay. Almost the same as i experienced with Remy's code which i (for demo purposes) also programmed on a form with just one button.
I am using Lazarus 2.2.0 on Win10Pro 64bit.
- So. If you have a shorter delay then that, there is something wrong at my side. Any suggestions? Is there a short silence at the beginning of your sound?
- Then the real beginner question: How to create a res file with multiple files in it. All I find is ways to put a single file in a single .res. Is there a way to put all needed sounds in one res file.
- Are there advantages/disadvantages to use *.lrs?
- Why not add the resources in the Project Options?

wp:
I tried again, and I added a 440-Hz wav file written by myself since I know then that there is not a short silent passage at the beginning of the file. Well, maybe a short delay - but the OnClick handler becomes active only when the mouse button is released. So, if you want to ignore the time the mouse button is down call the PlaySound in the OnMouseDown event rather than in OnClick.

wp: