Recent

Author Topic: Lazarus ide size after adding package  (Read 696 times)

maximilliangreat

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Lazarus ide size after adding package
« on: April 15, 2022, 09:22:13 am »
Hi!
I just installed lazarus from distrubution's package manager. Added small simple component, ide rebuilds itself.
Now I have /home/user/.lazarus/lazarus which is 140Mb vs /usr/bin/lazarus which is only 37Mb!
I don't feel like it is a right thing.
Why does it happen and what can I do about it?

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2079
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: Lazarus ide size after adding package
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2022, 09:40:38 am »
Well, you could strip it I guess, not a lot of point really ....

Code: Bash  [Select][+][-]
  1. dbannon@dell:~/bin/Lazarus/lazarus_2_2_0$ ls -l laz*
  2. -rwxrwxr-x 1 dbannon dbannon 185404608 Apr 15 17:00 lazarus
  3. ....
  4.  
  5. dbannon@dell:~/bin/Lazarus/lazarus_2_2_0$ strip lazarus
  6.  
  7. dbannon@dell:~/bin/Lazarus/lazarus_2_2_0$ ls -l laz*
  8. -rwxrwxr-x 1 dbannon dbannon  43481672 Apr 15 17:37 lazarus

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

af0815

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1022
Re: Lazarus ide size after adding package
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2022, 10:24:57 am »
What is your problem with the size of the ide ? I have no problems with big ide's

If you add a small package, this package can have depencies and the depencies can have more depencies. So things can be grown fast :-) But this is no problem with the IDE itself. And space on disks/ssd are actual no problem. And 5GB room for a longer working fpc/ide with all files inside are normal for me. And a Lazarus with 400 MB too.
regards
Andreas

dseligo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 715
Re: Lazarus ide size after adding package
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2022, 10:27:37 am »
You can go to menu Tools and then Configure "Build Lazarus..." ...

Check 'Profile to build' option: if you have 'Debug IDE' change it to 'Normal IDE' or 'Optimized IDE' (I use 'Optimized IDE').

tetrastes

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
Re: Lazarus ide size after adding package
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2022, 11:00:30 am »
"Normal IDE" is compiled with -g -gl and without -Xs, so you have to strip it manually. I don't understand why it is compiled with debug information (and so run time LCL and other packages), as there is "Debug IDE" option. Especially when -g option is not compatible with FpDebug, which is the default in Lazarus 2.2.0.

maximilliangreat

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Lazarus ide size after adding package
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2022, 07:41:38 am »
What is your problem with the size of the ide ? I have no problems with big ide's
Yes there is a problem. I have old notebook for linux, and it was noticeable. I've checked, on windows exe was 290mb!!   
Think about those who run lazarus on arm boards, or from usb thumb drives.


You can go to menu Tools and then Configure "Build Lazarus..." ...
Thanks, I'm pretty newbie to lazarus, had not know about this menu.  8)

"Normal IDE" is compiled with -g -gl and without -Xs, so you have to strip it manually. I don't understand why it is compiled with debug information (and so run time LCL and other packages), as there is "Debug IDE" option. Especially when -g option is not compatible with FpDebug, which is the default in Lazarus 2.2.0.
You absolutely right. I think it should be filed as a bug.


af0815

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1022
Re: Lazarus ide size after adding package
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2022, 08:54:05 am »
Sometimes, i am working on RasPi 3B+ and RasPi 4 there i have no realy problem with a bigger IDE. And you use on this devices only the packages you need.

I have on older Laptophardware no realy problems with the size of Lazarus. I have more problems with newer distributions like ubuntu. On this old hardware i use plain  Debian.
regards
Andreas

maximilliangreat

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Lazarus ide size after adding package
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2022, 06:38:30 pm »
Quote
I have on older Laptophardware no realy problems with the size of Lazarus.
Startup time. 1 sec vs 5 sec. Not a dealbreaker, but nothing good.

af0815

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1022
Re: Lazarus ide size after adding package
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2022, 07:10:16 pm »
Then use a smaler Version of Lazarus with only needed packages for the project.

But 5 Seconds startuptime is good, try to start other IDE. In their startuptime my coffeecup will go empty on older hardware.
regards
Andreas

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018