Recent

Author Topic: Incorporate dll in executable  (Read 4251 times)

Jones

Incorporate dll in executable
« on: March 30, 2022, 10:34:08 am »
Hi,

In my application, I use a dll (CoolProp.dll). I would like to incorporate this dll in the exe file, so that the user of my program only needs the exe file. How can I do this and how do I adapt my code?
For the moment, to call a certain function in the, still externtal, dll, really the only thing in the code is this:

function PropsSI(Output: PAnsichar; Name1: PAnsichar; Prop1: Double; Name2: PAnsichar; Prop2: Double; FluidName: PAnsichar): Double; stdcall; external 'CoolProp.dll';

Since I am not a developer, I am a fan of grandma explanations  ;)
Thanks!

MarkMLl

Re: Incorporate dll in executable
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2022, 10:45:04 am »
The FIRST thing you need to consider is whether the license of the DLL allows you to do that.

If the DLL were GPLed I'm pretty sure that what you're proposing would require that you release your entire application under GPL, while LGPL would be more tolerant.

If you aren't familiar with GPL etc., I suggest that Wikipedia would be a good starting point.

When somebody needs to do this sort of thing, it's far more common to find some sort of installation packager. However you'd still need to consider the legality of redistribution.

MarkMLl
MT+86 & Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN & graphics in 128Kb.
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.
GitHub repositories: https://github.com/MarkMLl?tab=repositories

HeavyUser

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2022, 03:50:05 pm »
Hi,

In my application, I use a dll (CoolProp.dll). I would like to incorporate this dll in the exe file, so that the user of my program only needs the exe file. How can I do this and how do I adapt my code?
For the moment, to call a certain function in the, still externtal, dll, really the only thing in the code is this: