Forum > macOS / Mac OS X

Error On MACos Bigsur

(1/3) > >>

superc:
Hello,

I'm trying to import project builded in win32 to MACos ( sorry but I'm a newbie) and I receive an error like in attachments..... the unint is reachable, I don't know how to solve the problem... Thanks in advance

Thaddy:
You are trying to compile a Microsoft Windows only program. That won't work on MACos.

superc:

I did not do it on purpose, is that I am using the mac and I am cutting myself

superc:
I'm now trying to install all components and I have problem with two : eye candy control and pl_synapsevs... Motto of lazarus is " Write once compile everywhere" .... why do you tell me it can't work?

rvk:
Who created that WindowsSpecialFolders unit?
You'll need to create equivalent functions for the Mac (you can use IFDEFs to separate the code to keep using just one unit).

--- Quote from: superc on March 11, 2022, 03:33:08 pm ---Motto of lazarus is " Write once compile everywhere" .... why do you tell me it can't work?

--- End quote ---
Of course. But you do need to write with cross-platform in mind. You can't use special Windows-calls and expect it to work on a Mac. The Mac doesn't have a C-drive, does it? It has a lot of things different from Windows. So you need to write some code which takes into account it can run on different platforms.

--- Quote from: superc on March 11, 2022, 03:33:08 pm ---I'm now trying to install all components and I have problem with two : eye candy control and pl_synapsevs...

--- End quote ---
pl_synapsevs??? Are you using Lazarus or CodeTyphon?
I don't think we have pl_ units in Lazarus, do we?

Not sure if  eye candy is Mac compatible.
Edit: Apparently it is. https://forum.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php?topic=50053.15

But you'll need to provide a lot more information than "it doesn't work". All that information is needed for someone to direct you in the right direction.
What version of Lazarus are you using?