Recent

Author Topic: Error On MACos Bigsur  (Read 1816 times)

superc

Error On MACos Bigsur
« on: March 11, 2022, 03:02:51 pm »
Hello,

I'm trying to import project builded in win32 to MACos ( sorry but I'm a newbie) and I receive an error like in attachments..... the unint is reachable, I don't know how to solve the problem... Thanks in advance

Thaddy

• Sensorship about opinions does not belong here.
Re: Error On MACos Bigsur
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2022, 03:07:04 pm »
You are trying to compile a Microsoft Windows only program. That won't work on MACos.
Object Pascal programmers should get rid of their "component fetish" especially with the non-visuals.

superc

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2022, 03:11:29 pm »

I did not do it on purpose, is that I am using the mac and I am cutting myself

superc

« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2022, 03:33:08 pm »
I'm now trying to install all components and I have problem with two : eye candy control and pl_synapsevs... Motto of lazarus is " Write once compile everywhere" .... why do you tell me it can't work?

rvk

« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2022, 03:50:04 pm »
Who created that WindowsSpecialFolders unit?
You'll need to create equivalent functions for the Mac (you can use IFDEFs to separate the code to keep using just one unit).

Motto of lazarus is " Write once compile everywhere" .... why do you tell me it can't work?
Of course. But you do need to write with cross-platform in mind. You can't use special Windows-calls and expect it to work on a Mac. The Mac doesn't have a C-drive, does it? It has a lot of things different from Windows. So you need to write some code which takes into account it can run on different platforms.

I'm now trying to install all components and I have problem with two : eye candy control and pl_synapsevs...
pl_synapsevs??? Are you using Lazarus or CodeTyphon?
I don't think we have pl_ units in Lazarus, do we?

Not sure if  eye candy is Mac compatible.