Recent

Author Topic: OOP structures in fpc and Lazarus  (Read 23825 times)

ArtLogi

Re: OOP structures in fpc and Lazarus
« Reply #15 on: November 10, 2021, 09:52:16 pm »

"OOP structures in fpc and Lazarus"
I like the OOP in fpc, I haven't posted much OOP, but I am working away in the background.
But not being a Lazarus ide user (very much), is there a difference in OOP between the two?
Lazarus also uses fpc as the compiler, so it is not necessary to mention Lazarus when discussing language features (IMHO). 

Lazarus does provide a lot of editorial help that makes it easier and faster to create and maintain classes (and objects, advanced records...) e.g. by creating empty methods in the implementation section that corresponds to methods declared in a class, synchronization of parameters between interface and implementation and so forth.

Edit: I see @jollytall was a bit quicker to post...
Even though I'm total noob, there is compiler directive to lazarus (FPC____) vs FPC, which kind of makes it kind of also if not language feature, at least local dialect.

Thank you for the learning resorce I will read it.
While Record is a drawer and method is a clerk, when both are combined to same space it forms an concept of office, which is alias for a great suffering.

PascalDragon

• Compiler Developer
« Reply #16 on: November 11, 2021, 09:16:14 am »
Even though I'm total noob, there is compiler directive to lazarus (FPC____) vs FPC, which kind of makes it kind of also if not language feature, at least local dialect.

What do you mean? The $Mode directive with Lazarus setting it to ObjFPC by default? That has nothing to do with Lazarus, but it's a functionality of FPC to allow different language modes per unit (the main ones are ObjFPC and Delphi). In the default mode most Object Pascal related functionality is disabled (e.g. classes).