Recent

Author Topic: GTK or QT?  (Read 12304 times)

bitman

GTK or QT?
« on: September 04, 2021, 07:36:48 am »
Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum and to Lazarus in general, though I've got some experience with Pascal and Delphi.

I need to develop an app that needs to run on Linux, Windows and mac.  I will be developing solely on Linux, and my plan is to just recompile on Windows and mac later on.

I noticed that Lazarus on Linux works under the hood using either Gtk2 or QT. As a matter of fact, I think I installed the QT implementation in a Debian/KDE machine, while on another system with Solus/Budgie I believe I installed the Gtk version.

So, my question is: which one should I use (GTK or QT) so that it gives me the less problems later on when I try to recompile for Windows and Mac ??? Or doesn't make any difference? Should I just install the version that merely corresponds to the linux desktop I'm using at the moment (Plasma or budgie)?

Thanks in advance!

MarkMLl

Re: GTK or QT?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2021, 09:30:55 am »
I can't really speak for the Windows/Mac side of things, but my experience on Linux (mainly Debian) is that there are few issues compiling for /both/ GTK2 and Qt. Where you /do/ come across problems, e.g. if you're trying to do fancy stuff with keycodes or define control placement better than can be managed with anchors etc., I think I'd argue that if you isolate them early by regularly checking with multiple widget sets on the same platform then it will likely save you work when you migrate to a different one.

MarkMLl
MT+86 & Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN & graphics in 128Kb.
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.
GitHub repositories: https://github.com/MarkMLl?tab=repositories

zeljko

• http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/User:Zeljan
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2021, 09:34:29 am »