Recent

Author Topic: [HELP!] finding corrct graph unit path to fpc ide  (Read 2526 times)

Fred vS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • StrumPract is the musicians best friend
Re: [HELP!] finding corrct graph unit path to fpc ide
« Reply #15 on: September 02, 2021, 08:44:23 pm »
Not enough info to see what's going wrong, but you can't mix and match PPU files from different FPC versions. The compiler will just ignore them

1) Download https://sourceforge.net/projects/freepascal/files/Linux/3.2.2/fpc-3.2.2.x86_64-linux.tar/download

2) Unzip it.

3) Run install script.

4) When all is installed, take a look inside directory:
    /usr/lib/fpc/3.2.2/units/x86_64-linux/graph/

--> graph.o and graph.ppu are missing.

Fre;D

[EDIT] @marcov: It is not forbidden to read my post, this for example:
                            https://forum.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php/topic,56104.msg417042.html#msg417042
                   
« Last Edit: September 02, 2021, 09:36:25 pm by Fred vS »
I use Lazarus 2.0.6 32/64 and FPC 3.2.0 32/64 on Debian 10.2 64 bit, Windows 10, Windows 7 32/64, Windows XP 32,  FreeBSD 64 and Mac OS X Snow Leopard 32.
Widgetset: fpGUI, MSEgui, Win32, GTK2, Qt, Carbon.

https://github.com/fredvs
https://gitlab.com/fredvs

Fred vS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • StrumPract is the musicians best friend
Re: [HELP!] finding corrct graph unit path to fpc ide
« Reply #16 on: September 02, 2021, 11:20:09 pm »
Hello.

I think that the problem comes from /packages/graph/fpmake.pp

There is something declared for [i386],[linux] but nothing for [x86_64],[linux]


Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1.   // Graph unit Linux/i386
  2.     T:=P.Targets.AddUnit('graph.pp',[i386],[linux]);
  3.       with T.Dependencies do
  4.         begin
  5.           AddInclude('graphh.inc');
  6.           AddInclude('graph.inc');
  7.           AddInclude('fontdata.inc');
  8.           AddInclude('clip.inc');
  9.           AddInclude('palette.inc');
  10.           AddInclude('modes.inc');
  11.           AddInclude('fills.inc');
  12.           AddInclude('gtext.inc');
  13.           AddInclude('graph16.inc',[freebsd,linux]);
  14.         end;
  15.  

But ok, I stop to try to explain.
Sorry for the noise.

Fre;D
I use Lazarus 2.0.6 32/64 and FPC 3.2.0 32/64 on Debian 10.2 64 bit, Windows 10, Windows 7 32/64, Windows XP 32,  FreeBSD 64 and Mac OS X Snow Leopard 32.
Widgetset: fpGUI, MSEgui, Win32, GTK2, Qt, Carbon.

https://github.com/fredvs
https://gitlab.com/fredvs

ron77

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: [HELP!] finding corrct graph unit path to fpc ide
« Reply #17 on: September 03, 2021, 11:04:36 am »
hello.. again...

i've totally removed fpc and fpc-ide and reinstalled lazarus ide with fpc 3.2.0.

and indeed there is missing graph.o ana graph.ppu headers in graph unit folder... i think there is something wrong and that this is a bug for Linux 64bit. and if you don't believe me or don't think so well that's not my problem.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2021, 01:15:06 pm by ron77 »

PascalDragon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3403
  • Compiler Developer
Re: [HELP!] finding corrct graph unit path to fpc ide
« Reply #18 on: September 03, 2021, 03:31:23 pm »
and indeed there is missing graph.o ana graph.ppu headers in graph unit folder... i think there is something wrong and that this is a bug for Linux 64bit. and if you don't believe me or don't think so well that's not my problem.

The Graph unit is not supported on non-i386 Linux. You need to use PtcGraph instead.

I think that the problem comes from /packages/graph/fpmake.pp

There is something declared for [i386],[linux] but nothing for [x86_64],[linux]

That is correct. The Graph unit links against libvga which is only available for i386-linux. The recommended replacement is PtcGraph.

Fred vS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • StrumPract is the musicians best friend
Re: [HELP!] finding corrct graph unit path to fpc ide
« Reply #19 on: September 03, 2021, 04:24:38 pm »
Thanks Sven for that clear explanation.

@ron77: I cannot understand/compile your program test1 but changing in uses section Graph with Ptcgraph should be ok.

Fre;D
« Last Edit: September 03, 2021, 04:27:13 pm by Fred vS »
I use Lazarus 2.0.6 32/64 and FPC 3.2.0 32/64 on Debian 10.2 64 bit, Windows 10, Windows 7 32/64, Windows XP 32,  FreeBSD 64 and Mac OS X Snow Leopard 32.
Widgetset: fpGUI, MSEgui, Win32, GTK2, Qt, Carbon.

https://github.com/fredvs
https://gitlab.com/fredvs

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018