Recent

Author Topic: FPC & Lazarus moving to gitlab  (Read 69821 times)

lucamar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4219
Re: FPC & Lazarus moving to gitlab
« Reply #120 on: August 01, 2021, 07:51:34 am »
I've very limited knowledge of Git, so if this wrong, please somebody correct me but AFAICT, you need to do for the first time:
Code: [Select]
git clone https://gitlab.com/freepascal.org/lazarus/lazarus.git mylazarusdirand from then on,
Code: [Select]
git pullfrom "mylazarusdir"

Idem with FPC, once the final repo is set-up.

As Martin said in the opening post, some info pages have been set-up in the wiki to ease the transition:
All necessary information to connect to gitlab will be collected in the FPC &
Lazarus Wiki. Several pages have already been set up:

https://wiki.freepascal.org/FPC_git
https://wiki.freepascal.org/FPC_git_concepts
https://wiki.freepascal.org/SVN_to_GIT_Cheatsheet

These pages will be updated with the correct URLS when the final conversion happens. The FPC & Lazarus websites will also be adapted with new instructions.

Note, also, that you can still use SVN by changing the URL to the clone set-up in GitHub. I don't know off the top of my head which it's but it's cited somewhere in this thread.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2021, 08:12:51 am by lucamar »
Turbo Pascal 3 CP/M - Amstrad PCW 8256 (512 KB !!!) :P
Lazarus/FPC 2.0.8/3.0.4 & 2.0.12/3.2.0 - 32/64 bits on:
(K|L|X)Ubuntu 12..18, Windows XP, 7, 10 and various DOSes.

stocki

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Re: FPC & Lazarus moving to gitlab
« Reply #121 on: August 01, 2021, 09:03:51 am »
I don't understand why the old SVN stopped working abruptly. I don't understand why partial git solutions are always presented. Very unprofessional.

jshand2010

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 231
Re: FPC & Lazarus moving to gitlab
« Reply #122 on: August 01, 2021, 09:11:33 am »
hi there.  i've also noticed there are teething problems with the snv to git convertion.  i have found that lazarus gitlab is setup without problems, but when i do a search for FPC, it doesn't exist...is there a reason for that
OpenSUSE Tumbleweed x86_64, Lazarus 2.0.0RC3 fixes branch, fpc 3.2.0 fixes branch

Bart

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4430
    • Bart en Mariska's Webstek
Re: FPC & Lazarus moving to gitlab
« Reply #123 on: August 01, 2021, 09:13:36 am »
Very unprofessional.

We are not a professional organisation.
All of us are volunteers.
There are good reasons to move to a hosted solution (GitLab in this case).
Migrating everything, including the bugtracker to GitLab is a major operation and it takes time.
Martin has put many, many hours into it.

Yes, thing go wrong, so we try and fix them.
Yes, the transition takes time.
Yes, subversion repository needs to be read-only until git repo works correctly
Yes, that's annoying

But, complaining about that won't help at all.
The only thing you can achieve by this that volunteers like Martin feel it makes no sense putting their energy into this project anymore.

If you want a professional solution, then pay for one: buy Delphi and see where that takes you.

And, please do not compare the Lazarus project to e.g. the gcc community.
We have a small core team of developer, not hundreds like them.

Bart

Bart

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4430
    • Bart en Mariska's Webstek
Re: FPC & Lazarus moving to gitlab
« Reply #124 on: August 01, 2021, 09:14:52 am »
hi there.  i've also noticed there are teething problems with the snv to git convertion.  i have found that lazarus gitlab is setup without problems, but when i do a search for FPC, it doesn't exist...is there a reason for that

Yes, there is (there were issues, but I forgot what exactly).
It'll come.

Bart

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7408
  • Debugger - SynEdit - and more
    • wiki
Re: FPC & Lazarus moving to gitlab
« Reply #125 on: August 01, 2021, 10:34:28 am »
hi there.  i've also noticed there are teething problems with the snv to git convertion.  i have found that lazarus gitlab is setup without problems, but when i do a search for FPC, it doesn't exist...is there a reason for that
As I said before...

The life time of the server came to an end. Since the underlying server was in bad need for maintenance, the contract for it had been cancelled. That was quite a while back. (From what I understand, I do/did not hold the contract).

The plan was to be done in time (on the 14th/15th).
But as things go, that did not work out.

We had to move the start of transferring to the weekend after that.

And then conversion took unplanned longer.

As you saw on the lazarus git, it was published and taken down again.
I had tested the process several times.
But only after we went live, I found that some older commit, well hidden had gone wrong. So I needed to start the Lazarus git over. It took Michael and me 3 days to get it back online.

The fpc repro has a lot more work to do (because they are recovering some of the data, they had lost when they moved from cvs to svn). (At least that is what I understand).

So unfortunately the old server went out of its live time, before we where ready.


And as explained by Bart: Neither of us is doing such type of tasks on a regular basis. All the planing, communication, testing .... All that was learning by doing.
So, yes, it was by no way perfect. And if we would have had all the experience (that we gained) when we started, then a lot would have been done differently.





stocki

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Re: FPC & Lazarus moving to gitlab
« Reply #126 on: August 01, 2021, 11:17:11 am »
Why do you have to switch from SVN to GIT now? SVN is highly professional and stable. Why these changes all the time? When a server is down, I buy a new one and copy everything. Finished.

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7408
  • Debugger - SynEdit - and more
    • wiki
Re: FPC & Lazarus moving to gitlab
« Reply #127 on: August 01, 2021, 11:21:18 am »
Why do you have to switch from SVN to GIT now? SVN is highly professional and stable. Why these changes all the time? When a server is down, I buy a new one and copy everything. Finished.
Has been answered at least 3 times.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2021, 11:25:30 am by Martin_fr »

Bart

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4430
    • Bart en Mariska's Webstek
Re: FPC & Lazarus moving to gitlab
« Reply #128 on: August 01, 2021, 11:53:10 am »
Why do you have to switch from SVN to GIT now? SVN is highly professional and stable. Why these changes all the time? When a server is down, I buy a new one and copy everything. Finished.

This is the last time:

Because the small core team does not want to spent their energy on maintaining the server and fixing bugs in Mantis anymore.
Maintenance became a real PITA.
They want to spend their free time developing fpc/Lazarus.
Therefore a hosted solution was sought.
Most of the core developers prefer git over svn.
It is their prerogative to decide that.
(Personally I'm more comfortable with svn).

For non-developers who use trunk in stead of svn co/svn up, you now have git clone/git pull to obtain current sources.
Making diff's/patches is equally simple.

Most regular users however just use the binaries we publish, so for them it does not matter at all.

Again, and for the last time: feel free to abandon fpc/Lazarus and buy Delph or start using a free C-compiler if you're not willing to pay huge amounts of money for a compiler.
Otherwise, just go with the flow and see where it takes you.

We don't need this negative energy.

Bart

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7408
  • Debugger - SynEdit - and more
    • wiki
Re: FPC & Lazarus moving to gitlab
« Reply #129 on: August 01, 2021, 12:14:02 pm »
I've put together a wiki page on the subject. It's just from my memory. So probably missing various points (as the topic has been bespoken in the team for a long time)

https://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/FAQ_SVN_to_GIT

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1542
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: FPC & Lazarus moving to gitlab
« Reply #130 on: August 01, 2021, 04:16:01 pm »
...
For non-developers who use trunk in stead of svn co/svn up, you now have git clone/git pull to obtain current sources.
Making diff's/patches is equally simple.
....
And if you don't want to use even that minimal git command, you can pull down a full zip or gz file in less time than the source forge ads ran for when grabbing a binary.

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

Fred vS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2388
    • StrumPract is the musicians best friend
Re: FPC & Lazarus moving to gitlab
« Reply #131 on: August 01, 2021, 05:20:54 pm »
...
For non-developers who use trunk in stead of svn co/svn up, you now have git clone/git pull to obtain current sources.
Making diff's/patches is equally simple.
....
And if you don't want to use even that minimal git command, you can pull down a full zip or gz file in less time than the source forge ads ran for when grabbing a binary.

Davo

I noted that strangely lot of people dont see that button in GitLab/GitHub site.
I have to explain with a screenshot where is that button ( even that in GitHub it is the only green button ).

Maybe a screenshot could be added in the wiki.

« Last Edit: August 01, 2021, 05:22:46 pm by Fred vS »
I use Lazarus 2.0.6 32/64 and FPC 3.2.0 32/64 on Debian 10.2 64 bit, Windows 10, Windows 7 32/64, Windows XP 32,  FreeBSD 64 and Mac OS X Snow Leopard 32.
Widgetset: fpGUI, MSEgui, Win32, GTK2, Qt, Carbon.

https://github.com/fredvs
https://gitlab.com/fredvs

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7408
  • Debugger - SynEdit - and more
    • wiki
Re: FPC & Lazarus moving to gitlab
« Reply #132 on: August 01, 2021, 05:28:46 pm »
Maybe a screenshot could be added in the wiki.
Depends on which wiki site.

There are still several pages to be updated from svn to git....

Also, pages should generally prioritize in the order:

gitlab, then github, then sourceforge-git  (since gitlab is now the main site).
And probably also mention info that there are some pre-packed downloads.

Unless a page is explicitly about download zip/tar, it should probably first focus on "git clone" then on "packed download".

Fred vS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2388
    • StrumPract is the musicians best friend
Re: FPC & Lazarus moving to gitlab
« Reply #133 on: August 01, 2021, 05:40:16 pm »
Unless a page is explicitly about download zip/tar, it should probably first focus on "git clone" then on "packed download".

Of course for lazarus-developers  "git clone" is needed because it will download also all the .git data.

But for Lazarus-users who dont need all the .git data, download zip/tar (that does not include all .git data) is a good/lighter solution, with only one click.
I use Lazarus 2.0.6 32/64 and FPC 3.2.0 32/64 on Debian 10.2 64 bit, Windows 10, Windows 7 32/64, Windows XP 32,  FreeBSD 64 and Mac OS X Snow Leopard 32.
Widgetset: fpGUI, MSEgui, Win32, GTK2, Qt, Carbon.

https://github.com/fredvs
https://gitlab.com/fredvs

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7408
  • Debugger - SynEdit - and more
    • wiki
Re: FPC & Lazarus moving to gitlab
« Reply #134 on: August 01, 2021, 05:53:48 pm »
Unless a page is explicitly about download zip/tar, it should probably first focus on "git clone" then on "packed download".

Of course for lazarus-developers  "git clone" is needed because it will download also all the .git data.

But for Lazarus-users who dont need all the .git data, download zip/tar (that does not include all .git data) is a good/lighter solution, with only one click.
I am not saying it shouldn't be there.
It depends on what the page targets.

Also keep in mind, that anyone who does not only download zips for releases (which are avail on sourceforge too), will be better off with a git clone.
Once you got the clone, you only have to download the differences to what you already have.

The Lazarus fixes zip is currently at 50MB. A full clone iirc at 170MB. Less than 4 times the amount. Once you download your 4th zip....

And if needs must, but I would not recommend it to a git newcomer, there is "--depth".





 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018