Forum > General

Reusable personal code libraries

(1/3) > >>

rwebb616:
I'm fairly new to Lazarus and learning.  I'm wondering how to best set up my own personal library of units that I can use for multiple applications for instance let's say I have some db routines that I write that would be the same for multiple applications.  What would be the best way to set that up? 

Rich

Martin_fr:
Create a new package (menu package -> new package).

Then in the package (the package window), in the toolbar "Add" > New File.

Now when you add the package to your project, you can add any of it's units to your "uses" clause.

You may find other methods on the internet, involving editing Path settings. Yes that is possible, but it can really quickly get you very strange errors.
Modifying the Path settings requires in depth knowledge.

Martin_fr:
Also, which ever way you go: Create yourself a repository (e.g. local git) of your units.

So if you edit them for project A, and you later compile project B and find your edits where wrong => you can still recover the old versions.

rwebb616:

--- Quote from: Martin_fr on May 11, 2021, 06:50:55 pm ---Create a new package (menu package -> new package).

Then in the package (the package window), in the toolbar "Add" > New File.

Now when you add the package to your project, you can add any of it's units to your "uses" clause.

You may find other methods on the internet, involving editing Path settings. Yes that is possible, but it can really quickly get you very strange errors.
Modifying the Path settings requires in depth knowledge.

--- End quote ---

That was a fast answer!  And it seems relatively simple.