Recent

Author Topic: Bug in "startlazarus" ?  (Read 1262 times)

bonmario

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 324
Bug in "startlazarus" ?
« on: May 09, 2021, 07:41:01 am »
Hi,
if i use this command
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. /usr/share/lazarus/default/lazarus /media/DiscoC/MyDir/MyProject.lpr
it starts lazarus and open my project

but if i use this command
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. /usr/share/lazarus/default/startlazarus /media/DiscoC/MyDir/MyProject.lpr
it only starts lazarus

It's correct or it's a bug?
I seem to remember that in the past "startlazarus" also opened the project received as a parameter.

Thanks, Mario

Bart

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4361
    • Bart en Mariska's Webstek
Re: Bug in "startlazarus" ?
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2021, 10:06:52 am »
Which Lazarus version?
starlazarus is supposed to pass commandline parameters to lazarus.

Bart

bonmario

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 324
Re: Bug in "startlazarus" ?
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2021, 11:07:19 am »
Sorry, you're right.
Thisi is my version: Lazarus 2.1.0 r65078M FPC 3.2.0 x86_64-linux-gtk2

The same also in Windows

Hi, Mario

Bart

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4361
    • Bart en Mariska's Webstek
Re: Bug in "startlazarus" ?
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2021, 11:32:04 am »
Maybe report this on the bugtracker?

In starlazarus.lpr there are these lines:
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1.             // if there is a lazarus instance accepting files, pass files to that
  2.             LazIDEInstances.PerformCheck;

So one might think that is is supposed to work.

Bart
« Last Edit: May 09, 2021, 11:38:08 am by Bart »

Bart

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4361
    • Bart en Mariska's Webstek
Re: Bug in "startlazarus" ?
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2021, 11:55:56 am »
On windows for me this works as expected b.t.w.
Both commands open the same project.
(After the first I opende another project and closed Lazarus)
Code: [Select]
C:\devel\lazarus>lazarus c:\Users\Bart\LazarusProjecten\eplus\eplus.lpi

C:\devel\lazarus>startlazarus c:\Users\Bart\LazarusProjecten\eplus\eplus.lpi

Lazarus 2.1.0 r64844 FPC 3.2.2 i386-win32-win32/win64

Bart

lucamar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4180
Re: Bug in "startlazarus" ?
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2021, 01:48:10 pm »
In Linux, at least, starting with v2.0.12 startlazarus doesn't pass the file name and one has to call lazarus-ide directly. I noticed this when a small tool I use to open projects stopped working.

What I don't remember is whether there was a bug report about it  :-[
Turbo Pascal 3 CP/M - Amstrad PCW 8256 (512 KB !!!) :P
Lazarus/FPC 2.0.8/3.0.4 & 2.0.12/3.2.0 - 32/64 bits on:
(K|L|X)Ubuntu 12..18, Windows XP, 7, 10 and various DOSes.

trev

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1527
  • Former Delphi 1-7, 10.2 user
Re: Bug in "startlazarus" ?
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2021, 02:07:08 pm »
What I don't remember is whether there was a bug report about it  :-[

The only open issue for startlazarus seems to be https://bugs.freepascal.org/view.php?id=37034
Lazarus 2.1 r65061 FPC 3.3.1 r49223 macOS 10.14.6 Xcode 11.3.1
Lazarus 2.3 r65500 FPC 3.3.1 r49634 macOS 11.5.1 aarch64 Xcode 12.5.1
Lazarus 2.1 r61574 FPC 3.3.1 r42318 FreeBSD 12.1 amd64 VMware VM
Lazarus 2.1 r61574 FPC 3.0.4 Ubuntu 20.04 Parallels VM
Lazarus 2.0.10 FPC 3.2.0 Win10 Parallels VM

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018