Recent

Author Topic: Bug in "startlazarus" ?  (Read 1326 times)

bonmario

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 326
Bug in "startlazarus" ?
« on: May 09, 2021, 07:41:01 am »
Hi,
if i use this command
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. /usr/share/lazarus/default/lazarus /media/DiscoC/MyDir/MyProject.lpr
it starts lazarus and open my project

but if i use this command
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. /usr/share/lazarus/default/startlazarus /media/DiscoC/MyDir/MyProject.lpr
it only starts lazarus

It's correct or it's a bug?
I seem to remember that in the past "startlazarus" also opened the project received as a parameter.

Thanks, Mario

Bart

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4415
    • Bart en Mariska's Webstek
Re: Bug in "startlazarus" ?
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2021, 10:06:52 am »
Which Lazarus version?
starlazarus is supposed to pass commandline parameters to lazarus.

Bart

bonmario

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 326
Re: Bug in "startlazarus" ?
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2021, 11:07:19 am »
Sorry, you're right.
Thisi is my version: Lazarus 2.1.0 r65078M FPC 3.2.0 x86_64-linux-gtk2

The same also in Windows

Hi, Mario

Bart

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4415
    • Bart en Mariska's Webstek
Re: Bug in "startlazarus" ?
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2021, 11:32:04 am »
Maybe report this on the bugtracker?

In starlazarus.lpr there are these lines:
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1.             // if there is a lazarus instance accepting files, pass files to that
  2.             LazIDEInstances.PerformCheck;

So one might think that is is supposed to work.

Bart
« Last Edit: May 09, 2021, 11:38:08 am by Bart »

Bart

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4415
    • Bart en Mariska's Webstek
Re: Bug in "startlazarus" ?
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2021, 11:55:56 am »
On windows for me this works as expected b.t.w.
Both commands open the same project.
(After the first I opende another project and closed Lazarus)
Code: [Select]
C:\devel\lazarus>lazarus c:\Users\Bart\LazarusProjecten\eplus\eplus.lpi

C:\devel\lazarus>startlazarus c:\Users\Bart\LazarusProjecten\eplus\eplus.lpi

Lazarus 2.1.0 r64844 FPC 3.2.2 i386-win32-win32/win64

Bart

lucamar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4219
Re: Bug in "startlazarus" ?
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2021, 01:48:10 pm »
In Linux, at least, starting with v2.0.12 startlazarus doesn't pass the file name and one has to call lazarus-ide directly. I noticed this when a small tool I use to open projects stopped working.

What I don't remember is whether there was a bug report about it  :-[
Turbo Pascal 3 CP/M - Amstrad PCW 8256 (512 KB !!!) :P
Lazarus/FPC 2.0.8/3.0.4 & 2.0.12/3.2.0 - 32/64 bits on:
(K|L|X)Ubuntu 12..18, Windows XP, 7, 10 and various DOSes.

trev

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1584
  • Former Delphi 1-7, 10.2 user
Re: Bug in "startlazarus" ?
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2021, 02:07:08 pm »
What I don't remember is whether there was a bug report about it  :-[

The only open issue for startlazarus seems to be https://bugs.freepascal.org/view.php?id=37034
Lazarus 2.3 2021-08-10 FPC 3.3.1 r49223 macOS 10.14.6 Xcode 11.3.1
Lazarus 2.3 r65500 FPC 3.3.1 r49634 macOS 11.5.2 aarch64 Xcode 12.5.1
Lazarus 2.3 2021-08-11 FPC 3.2.2 FreeBSD 13.0 amd64 VMware VM
Lazarus 2.1 r61574 FPC 3.0.4 Ubuntu 20.04 Parallels VM
Lazarus 2.0.10 FPC 3.2.0 Win10 Parallels VM

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018