Forum > Linux

Compiling Linux project to Windows platform

(1/3) > >>

pascal111:
Hello everyone!

I'm Linux Mint user, and I'm a beginner generally to Pascal language and particularly to Lazarus IDE. I succeeded to convert some traditional BASIC command-line games into Lazarus freePascal, and some other users who are using Windows like to try these small games, but I didn't understand the idea how to compile the projects to Windows exe files.

I googled for this topic and found this document but I didn't get the idea how to do it on my installed Lazarus, I didn't find same folders with the same names in my Lazarus version.

https://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Cross_compiling_for_Win32_under_Linux

trev:
Have you done the two steps described in this step on the Wiki page you cited?

dbannon:
 > I didn't find same folders with the same names in my Lazarus version.

OK, firstly, please understand when you are setting up a cross compiler, its FPC stuff you are doing, at least initially. Lazarus does not come into it until you start using the cross compiler.  So, by saying that you cannot find the "same names", you probably mean the FPC folder names ? Please tell us what names you are looking for ?

My one notes as to how I setup my cross compilers say this -

--- Code: ---# Setup 32bit and 64 bit Windows
cd /usr/share/fpcsrc/$FPCVER
make clean all OS_TARGET=win32 CPU_TARGET=i386
make crossinstall OS_TARGET=win32 CPU_TARGET=i386 INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr
ln -sf /usr/lib/fpc/$FPCVER/ppcross386 /usr/bin/ppcross386

make clean all OS_TARGET=win64 CPU_TARGET=x86_64
make crossinstall OS_TARGET=win64 CPU_TARGET=x86_64 INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr
ln -sf /usr/lib/fpc/$FPCVER/ppcrossx64 /usr/bin/ppcrossx64

# Make sure its all there (we should see ppcross386, ppcrossx64)
echo "watch for ppcross386, ppcrossx64"
ls -la /usr/lib/fpc/$FPCVER/ppcross*
ls -la /usr/bin/ppcross*
--- End code ---