Recent

Author Topic: This should be straightforward: how do I change the color before DrawFocusRect?  (Read 1464 times)

EganSolo

I'm a newbie when it comes to graphics in Lazarus. I'm much more of a back-end type of coder.

I've been toying with the canvas_test example project (accessible from Tools -> Example Projects and in the unit RectangleTest, around line 69, you'll find:
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1.     // Different rectangles
  2.     MyBitmap.Canvas.Brush.Color := clRed;
  3.     MyBitmap.Canvas.Pen.Color := clBlack;
  4.     MyBitmap.Canvas.DrawFocusRect(Bounds(25, 75, 50, 50));

I wondered how to change the color of the rectangle produced by DrawFocusedRect. Changing the color of the pen and/or the brush has no effect. Am I missing something, or is DrawFocusRect purpose is to draw a black rectangle?

By the way, I tried to approximate that effect using the following modified code from line 72 in the same unit
  1.       //I've added the following two lines
  2.       MyBitmap.Canvas.Pen.Color = clBlue;
  3.       MyBitmap.Canvas.Pen.Style  = psDot;
  4.       MyBitmap.Canvas.Rectangle(Bounds(325, 75, 50, 50));

That bit of code works but the 'dot' style is coarser than the one produced by DrawFocusRect. Is there a way to approximate that style using Draw?

Thanks!

440bx

I wondered how to change the color of the rectangle produced by DrawFocusedRect. Changing the color of the pen and/or the brush has no effect. Am I missing something, or is DrawFocusRect purpose is to draw a black rectangle?
I'm going to provide you with an answer that is Windows specific but, I suspect it likely applies to other O/Ss FPC/Lazarus supports (due to the LCL).  In Windows, the focus rect is drawn using an XOR operation (see MSDN), because of that the rectangle color is determined by the background color.

By the way, I tried to approximate that effect <snip>